Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Been a while

  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Been a while

    Hey guys. Been a minute since I've visited. I used to crunch seti@home here with a lot of other folks. At my height I believe I was running 7 systems 24/7. I had to shut er down when the electric bill went from $130 to over $350.

    How has everyone been?


    Wow, guess I need to update my sig!
    Last edited by Roach III; 12-20-2009 at 06:04 AM. Reason: Saw my sig.....wow....
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Been a while



    Yes it has been a while, eh!

    You're right the electric bills can be a bugger if not done right. Most people have dropped down to just one or two computers. But kept increased their numbers up by switching over to GPU crunching.

    Our team's numbers aren't what it used to be, but we're making sure the other teams still sees us. Got to keep them on their toes!

  3. #3
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    MT
    Posts
    3,237

    Re: Been a while

    Howdy Roach! It has been a while, indeed. Good to see yer still kickin'.
    ASUS A8N5X | Athlon 64 X2 4600+| Stock AMD heatsink and fan | 2x1G Corsair PC3500 | WD 250 Gig 7200/Maxtor 30 Gig 7200 | Sony DVDRW| NEC DVD/RW | eVGA 9600GTS | XPCBox w/Antec 500 TruPower PS | WinXP Pro SP3

    Every day Gregory Peccary would get into his little red Volkswagen and drive to the ugly side of town, where they keep the government buildings.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    So did our work units carry over? I forget. I'm thinking of throwing my hat in the ring again. Seti only really. I don't believe in making the drug companies richer at my expense.
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    a happy place
    Posts
    653

    Re: Been a while

    The old Seti Classic work units didn't carry over to the BOINC credit scheme, but you should still be able to see how many Classic units you completed and the CPU time.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    Well, I pulled out my old 8 port KVM switch and really am contemplating..........

    Can you crunch with the cpus and the gpus at the same time?

    How far back in the generations is crunching supported on the gpus?
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,977

    Re: Been a while

    I think with the newer release of boinc client you can crunch on cpu and gpu at the same time.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    Okay, I joined the team and the dub-deuce is crunching away. Let's see how this e-bill thing works out.
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  9. #9
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Been a while

    As far as Nvidia cards go, you need one that supports Cuda. This page lists all of their products that are Cuda enabled:

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_learn_products.html

    Depending on the project you are running, you should see somewhere around a 10x speed increase by running 9800GT verses an Intel 6600 quad! If you're buying new, don't even think about the 9xxx series of cards. Go directly to the 2xx series.

    If you want the most bang for the buck, go with one of the newer ATIs. Can't tell you if Seti has an ATI compatible client as I don't keep up with ATI that much. I do know that Seti does have an Nvidia Cuda client.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    Okay! Got me some credit!

    134) Roach III 2,922


    Got 2x Asus A8N-DREs coming soon. BTW: they're selling these NIB over at geeks.com for $18.99!

    Oh. Just recently acquired a relay rack. Just gotta clean it up and paint it. Will make a nice home for multiple duallies and other equipment.
    Last edited by Roach III; 12-22-2009 at 05:45 AM. Reason: added bonus!
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  11. #11
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    85

    Re: Been a while

    awesome! keep on crunchin every cred counts.



  12. #12
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    85

    Re: Been a while

    Quote Originally Posted by Spankin Partier View Post
    As far as Nvidia cards go, you need one that supports Cuda. This page lists all of their products that are Cuda enabled:

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_learn_products.html

    Depending on the project you are running, you should see somewhere around a 10x speed increase by running 9800GT verses an Intel 6600 quad! If you're buying new, don't even think about the 9xxx series of cards. Go directly to the 2xx series.

    If you want the most bang for the buck, go with one of the newer ATIs. Can't tell you if Seti has an ATI compatible client as I don't keep up with ATI that much. I do know that Seti does have an Nvidia Cuda client.
    seti beta has an ati client and im racking up some wicked credits on my 5770 with collatz conjecture.



  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    Okay. Weird. Apparently, I have two accounts under the exact same name. Whassup wid dat?!
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    a happy place
    Posts
    653

    Re: Been a while

    Different email addresses? Is is under one project or multiple projects?

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Jackson, Mo.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    76

    Re: Been a while

    Should be under one. They're both a member of the Killer Frogs.
    2x Opteron 2222
    Tyan S2915-e
    8GB Kingston DDR2-667
    2x MSI NX8600GT
    2x 36GB Raptors in RAID 0
    1TB WD Black
    Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •