Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Cool First Time Overclocker On Deck

    I'm ready to get into the 4.0ghz overclocker club, but first I want the basics of how to overclock as I've never gone at it before. I just set up an overclocking system today (reference my system specs) and want to start off by getting my memory timings up from 9-9-9-24 to the specified 8-8-8-24.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    You need to enable your system specs or something cause i don't see anything??
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Fixed, thanks for the reminder to turn it on.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Not being knowledgable of Gig boards I'll use broad brush strokes!

    Go into the bios and start by setting the main headings from "normal", "auto", or whatever it is they have. This will allow you to have access to the sub-menus that will allow you to set voltages, and other settings like FSB, HT Freq, DRAM settings (memory), etc.

    I believe your first desire was to set the memory to factory specs (8-8-8-24?). First off find the setting for vdmm and set that to the highest factory voltage settings. Then with that done go in and change:

    Trcd:………………......9 > 8
    Trrd:……………….......9 > 8
    Trp:…………………......9 > 8
    Tras:……………….......24 (same)
    CAS Latatency:......9 > 8

    Be aware of a thing or two in the fact that if you set your DRAM freq, clock, whatever it is called to 800 (1600) make sure that you FSB value is still stock (200?). Actually though as you're intent is to overclock I would set it at whatever the next lower values is. Showing my ignorance as I haven't used mem that fast yet!!

    Hope this get you going a wee bit!
    Last edited by jedihobbit; 02-19-2010 at 09:52 PM. Reason: misspelinks and engrish corrections.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    I would save the memory overclocking for last since it is the most tricky and time consuming.

    Im still tweaking my memory, DFI boards got a lot of options to tweak

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Well then, where do you all suggest I start?

    I made a bit of my own choice on that by using the OC software included with the motherboard. It said it'd clock it to 3.1ghz with one click of a button so I tried it out. When I restarted and looked on CPU-Z, I was running at 3.3, which is exactly where I want to be anyways!

    Though I consider this "cheating" as I didn't go into the BIOS and fiddle myself.

    Maybe a place to start would be an explanation of common settings that can be tweaked?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Run a 16 or 32M run of HPi or see how long it will run Prime at your current "auto" overdrive settings. I've done that before and found they would not run "stable" until the bios tweaks were done.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Hyper Pi passed on 32m with 000.19.19.083, no issues, all eight processors running, and under real conditions (Aero on, programs running in background). My cores got as high as a toasty 45C running at full power.
    Last edited by Zen00; 02-20-2010 at 07:26 PM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    If the easy way out is the plan then I think you've done quiet well. Wish I was more familar with the mobo and i7s. If you are happy then there is no need to go further.

    The only thing I would now do is start Prime when you go to bed and see if it runs for 8 - 12 hours or do a 6 hour run of OCCT.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    3.3ghz is great, where I want to be, but I want to see how high I can go. I'd like to reach 4.0ghz if possible. So what do I do to get there?

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Sorry to take so long.....down loaded the manual for your mobo to see what is in the bios and became totally confused as it appears intel speak is different form amd speak!!

    Anyway a start would be to put as much into manual mode but don't change values just yet. the DRAMM settings would be the exception and I would set them as suggested above. Also look for voltage settings that mention HT and Chipset as well as the standard vcore and vdmm.

    With everything pretty much stock start raising the HTT, FSB, or whatever you wish to call it 2 - 5 Mhz at a time and run an 8M run of HPi until it will no longer finish. Then go back and raise the voltages (with exception of vdmm) to the next value and start over again.

    If the mobo comes with an overclocking utility I would do it through that so you won't have to reboot so often. Once you've made some "meaningful" (whatever that means) MHz increases through the utility, change that in the bios.

    One of the things you want to do is make sure you set the HTT freq at a lower level than what max stock is because when you increase the FSB they change also. That's why I suggested set the mem initially to lower value.

    Now that I've stuck my foot fully down my throat, I'm sure you're a covert oc'ing master that is laughing their head off at my ineptness.

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Hardly, what instead I'm doing is wondering what all your abbreviations mean.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    5,302

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Ygpm

    Why F@H?? Click me!
    As of 07/28/11
    Oz1a v2.0 >> XFX MDA72P7509 750a, PI X2 8870BE, 2 x XFX GTS250, WD 250GB, F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK, Tt TR2 600W, XP Pro SP3

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    126

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    Quote Originally Posted by jedihobbit View Post
    Not being knowledgable of Gig boards I'll use broad brush strokes!

    Go into the bios and start by setting the main headings from "normal", "auto", or whatever it is they have. This will allow you to have access to the sub-menus that will allow you to set voltages, and other settings like FSB, HT Freq, DRAM settings (memory), etc.

    I believe your first desire was to set the memory to factory specs (8-8-8-24?). First off find the setting for vdmm and set that to the highest factory voltage settings. Then with that done go in and change:

    Trcd:………………......9 > 8
    Trrd:……………….......9 > 8
    Trp:…………………......9 > 8
    Tras:……………….......24 (same)
    CAS Latatency:......9 > 8

    Be aware of a thing or two in the fact that if you set your DRAM freq, clock, whatever it is called to 800 (1600) make sure that you FSB value is still stock (200?). Actually though as you're intent is to overclock I would set it at whatever the next lower values is. Showing my ignorance as I haven't used mem that fast yet!!

    Hope this get you going a wee bit!

    I've been working on my RAM since I finished messing around with my GPU (AMD 5570, 900/1310) and the system does an okay basic overclock on its own for the CPU (I'll mess around with getting to 4.0 later)

    Right now I have a few questions.

    A. How do you change the FSB? The only thing close to it that I can do is mess with the system memory multiplier, and even that doesn't really work as it only allows me to set it at 1500mhz or 1800mhz, and not the specified 1600mhz.

    B. TRRD doesn't set higher than 7

    C. What's VDMM? I can't find it on the net or the BIOS.

    D. I can't set the voltages to 1.65, closest is 1.64.
    My current clock settings run, but half my cores fail HyperPi 8m.
    Last edited by Zen00; 02-27-2010 at 07:51 PM.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: First Time Overclocker On Deck

    what i'd like to know is where the intel fan boys are!

    maybe you can glean some info from here:

    http://go.pcper.com/?id=267X417&url=...5aud4p%2F8.htm

    i'd set your memory back to spd(cas 8) so you know that's not to blame and go after your oc that is more than likely crashing your 2 cores.

    what cpu do you have?



    ud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •