Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thumbs up The lean mean green HTPC Watercooling Project |Worklog + Opinion Requests|

Okay so one of my HTPCs (HTPC 2 in my sig) is a bit hot of a PC tbh. It works okay but the temps tend to scare me. Heck it gets so hot on the back of it I feel as if it is going to set my tv stand on fire when I am running 1080p content. It is fairly quiet right now though. The loudest thing in it is the hard drive. Everything else sits around 20DB. I certainly don't want it any louder than it is.

I am considering watercooling the CPU and the graphics card.

Problems/questions with this are:
    -I have never done watercooling before ever and trying to figure out what I need and what is best has me overwhelmed.
    -It's a custom micro-atx case. It is built to be as small as possible while housing all the electronics inside. Therefore I am not sure where the radiator is going to go or how it will be mounted etc. I have one of those fans that goes in an expansion slot is there a radiator that can be mounted that way?
    -Is the radiator fan going to be louder than 20db?
    -Will this drop temps enough to be worth it?
    -How much would I probably be spending total?

Thanks for any replies/help!
    Last edited by Bearded Frog; 04-15-2010 at 08:47 AM.

Re: Watercooling for HTPC possibly?

Are you gaming on your HTPCs? That's an awful lot of processing power to play a few video files if you're not doing any gaming.

Better to spend your money downgrading to reduce the heat output if you don't need the processing power.

You wouldn't be gpu folding with that rig would you?

Water cooling should work good for you, get the pump and rad out of the case for best results.

Sounds like you are running your fans too slow for your current usage patterns. Of course fast fans make noise.

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)