Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 43 of 43
  1. #31
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,743

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Thanks MrBlack

    Not quite the slowest, I've received 383.480 Seconds from an older Xeon 3050 @ 2128 MHz
    Tyan S5397 2x X5450 16GB - SuperMicro H8DCI 2x 275 8GB - Iwill DK8X 2x Opteron 250 2GB


    Take a Kid FISHING!

  2. #32
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Quote Originally Posted by smoked trout View Post
    Thanks MrBlack

    Not quite the slowest, I've received 383.480 Seconds from an older Xeon 3050 @ 2128 MHz
    .

    Do you know what kills or helps this Benchmark ?

    Is it more L2 cache, or more RAM, or just the highest CPU clock speed ?

    EDIT: from a CPU-Z run, I see that my memory is running at 750 MHz, not the default frequency and not the fastest.
    I haven't pushed it yet, but it is 2000 MHz Kingston, so it should be able to do much better ...
    Might give that a try and another test


    .
    Last edited by noorman; 07-04-2010 at 02:15 PM.


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  3. #33
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,743

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Well that's one of the things I hope to find out.

    Farsite is heavy on floating point, not so much on memory use quantity wise but I'm sure increased cache would help as it's always accessing memory.

    So far it appears pure processing power is the key.
    Tyan S5397 2x X5450 16GB - SuperMicro H8DCI 2x 275 8GB - Iwill DK8X 2x Opteron 250 2GB


    Take a Kid FISHING!

  4. #34
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    .

    I 've just been in my BIOS settings and upped some figures ...

    I also looked at the current settings and found that it is indeed the TURBO setting that plays a role in the CPU speed data !
    When the system goes to turbo, when heavily loaded, it switches to Turbo and that means (for this CPU) going from multi 21 to 22x ...
    That explains the different measurements, from 3.15 GHz and 3.30 GHz !

    Now I 've set the multi to 21x, the BaseClock to 166 MHz and that means that my CPU is at 3.50 GHz now and the memory at 2000 MHz (before it was at 750 x2 = 1500)

    I 'll download the Benchmarks again and run them for you; that way you have a comparison from one and the same system with some different settings to it ...

    .

    BRB

    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  5. #35
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    .

    Done and sent !

    CPU at 166*21 (3.50 GHz) / Memory (RAM) @ 2,000 MHz

    EDIT: it is in fact 3.486 GHz, which is exactly what the CPUSpeedProfessional program also reports !

    .
    Last edited by noorman; 07-04-2010 at 03:11 PM.


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  6. #36
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,743

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Yeah I was wondering if Turbo or speed-step might play a role in the differences in reported clock speed. So I get what the OS sees at startup, yet that may increase when the processors are under load.

    So you got 91.745 Seconds with that 860 at 3.486 GHz, which is damn close to the times on my 960 @ 3.238 GHz. I might have to see if I can get some other info like cache amounts and memory amounts/speed, but I don't think they're available in the registry. I can get that info with WMI so I may have to go there for it.

    Thanks again for running this!
    Tyan S5397 2x X5450 16GB - SuperMicro H8DCI 2x 275 8GB - Iwill DK8X 2x Opteron 250 2GB


    Take a Kid FISHING!

  7. #37
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Quote Originally Posted by smoked trout View Post
    Yeah I was wondering if Turbo or speed-step might play a role in the differences in reported clock speed. So I get what the OS sees at startup, yet that may increase when the processors are under load.

    So you got 91.745 Seconds with that 860 at 3.486 GHz, which is damn close to the times on my 960 @ 3.238 GHz. I might have to see if I can get some other info like cache amounts and memory amounts/speed, but I don't think they're available in the registry. I can get that info with WMI so I may have to go there for it.

    Thanks again for running this!
    .


    Cache sizes are known data in the technical specs of the processors / they are specific and not alterable ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  8. #38
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,743

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    I know, which means I get to go look these things up (time!) I can find them but would prefer to just have them listed in the timings file... eventually.

    For instance I'm going to be looking up the differences between the 860 and 960 after getting your benchmarks. I know where to find them but as I said, it just takes more of my time.... where does it all go?
    Tyan S5397 2x X5450 16GB - SuperMicro H8DCI 2x 275 8GB - Iwill DK8X 2x Opteron 250 2GB


    Take a Kid FISHING!

  9. #39
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Quote Originally Posted by smoked trout View Post
    I know, which means I get to go look these things up (time!) I can find them but would prefer to just have them listed in the timings file... eventually.

    For instance I'm going to be looking up the differences between the 860 and 960 after getting your benchmarks. I know where to find them but as I said, it just takes more of my time.... where does it all go?
    .

    the biggest differences are that the 9xx series is socket LGA1366, the 8xx series is socket LGA1156 !
    Further differences lie in the larger amount of pins, which are used for something
    The 1366 is the Bloomfield family, the 1156 is the Lynnfield family.
    The difference between those will be apparent in the differences between those families of CPU's ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  10. #40
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    .

    Main difference lies in the dual-channel or triple-channel memory controller !

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nehalem...rchitecture%29

    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  11. #41
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    .

    Another thing I discovered: "Typically Intel will give you a minimum 7 year life cycle with an embedded version of a processor. This includes the ability to buy for that long, and get technical support from engineering as well. These are used in more industrial designs versus consumer grade designs."

    source: http://forum.notebookreview.com/hard...does-mean.html

    I was researching this because the i7-860 is the only 'embedded' CPU of the 8xx series ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  12. #42
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    44
    Posts
    3,896

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Well I don't know the spoiler secret but I suppose the code window works.

    i7 920 at stock
    HTML Code:
    Farsite BenchMark Results
    System Info:
    	WinMajor: 6, WinMinor: 1, Platform: 2, Build: 7600
    	Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU         920  @ 2.67GHz
    	Vendor: GenuineIntel
    	Family: 6
    	Model: 26
    	Stepping: 4
    	Speed (MHz): 2666
    
    
    Simulation Info:
    	Number Processors Available: 8
    	Landscape File: 150239.lcp
    	Landscape Resolution: 30.0
    	Landscape Size: 371 x 371
    	Farsite Start Time: 07 31 0600
    	Farsite End Time:   08 03 1300
    	Total Sim Time:     4740.000000
    	Ignition File:      ignits.shp
    	Barriers File:      None
    	Time Step:                  60.000000
    	Distance Resolution:        30.000000
    	Perimeter Resolution:       60.000000
    	Enable Spotting:            No
    	Spot Probability:           5.000000
    	Spot Ignition Delay:        5.000000
    	Foliar Moisture:            100.0000
    	Enable Crowning:            Yes
    	Crown Fire Method:          Finney
    	                            Crown Density NOT LINKED to Crown Cover
    	Dist Check Method:          Fire Level
    	Acceleration:               On
    	Backing Spread:             Calculated from Elliptical Dimensions
    	Simulation Started:         7/31 6:00
    	Simulation Ended:           08/03  13:00
    	Elapsed Time:               03 07:00
    	Restore Ignitions:          No
    	Preserve Inactive Enclaves: Yes
    	Burn Periods:           0
    
    	Total Farsite Run Time: 176.731 Seconds
    and a Q6600 I really need to get around to OCing
    HTML Code:
    Farsite BenchMark Results
    System Info:
    	WinMajor: 5, WinMinor: 2, Platform: 2, Build: 3790
    	Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
    	Vendor: GenuineIntel
    	Family: 6
    	Model: 15
    	Stepping: 11
    	Speed (MHz): 2400
    
    
    Simulation Info:
    	Number Processors Available: 4
    	Landscape File: 150239.lcp
    	Landscape Resolution: 30.0
    	Landscape Size: 371 x 371
    	Farsite Start Time: 07 31 0600
    	Farsite End Time:   08 03 1300
    	Total Sim Time:     4740.000000
    	Ignition File:      ignits.shp
    	Barriers File:      None
    	Time Step:                  60.000000
    	Distance Resolution:        30.000000
    	Perimeter Resolution:       60.000000
    	Enable Spotting:            No
    	Spot Probability:           5.000000
    	Spot Ignition Delay:        5.000000
    	Foliar Moisture:            100.0000
    	Enable Crowning:            Yes
    	Crown Fire Method:          Finney
    	                            Crown Density NOT LINKED to Crown Cover
    	Dist Check Method:          Fire Level
    	Acceleration:               On
    	Backing Spread:             Calculated from Elliptical Dimensions
    	Simulation Started:         7/31 6:00
    	Simulation Ended:           08/03  13:00
    	Elapsed Time:               03 07:00
    	Restore Ignitions:          No
    	Preserve Inactive Enclaves: Yes
    	Burn Periods:           0
    
    	Total Farsite Run Time: 203.187 Seconds
    Good luck on the project!

  13. #43
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,743

    Re: Benchmark Farsite

    Thanks molestedbyasus!

    Just note, the i7-920 got 116.233 Seconds for the single threaded run. Not too bad for a stock processor that's relatively cheap.
    Tyan S5397 2x X5450 16GB - SuperMicro H8DCI 2x 275 8GB - Iwill DK8X 2x Opteron 250 2GB


    Take a Kid FISHING!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •