Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Exclamation "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    .

    As a result of a bug affecting A3-core BigAdv units on Linux, Peter Kasson has suspended the assignment of these units to Linux machines.

    The cause of this bug remains unknown, but pending its resolution, you should fall back on non-BigAdv units for the time being.

    If you have one handy, you can still try your hand at folding BigAdv units under a Windows installation, as this capability has just been activated for the OS. As with the Linux client, running it with the -smp and -bigadv flags on a version 6.29 client or higher will allow you to obtain BigAdv units.

    The current stock of BigAdv units will remain fairly limited until new projects are started with corrected cores. In the event of a shortage, your Windows machine should fall back on A3 projects.
    .

    source: http://en.fah-addict.net/news/news-0...ests-begin.php


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Age
    68
    Posts
    6,201

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    So I retired my 8800GTS units and upgraded my GPU Folding to a combination of GTX 260, 280 and 285 units with Fernie being out of my price league for a while at least.

    All systems use W7 except the server which is WHS.

    What switches should I be using?

    BG
    Last edited by Britgeezer; 07-05-2010 at 12:12 AM.
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

  3. #3
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5,271

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    Quote Originally Posted by Britgeezer View Post
    So I retired my 8800GTS units and upgraded my GPU Folding to a combination of GTX 260, 280 and 285 units with Fernie being out of my price league for a while at least.

    All systems use W7 except the server which is WHS.

    What switches should I be using?

    BG
    This one: http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=471946
    should give you everything you need to know BG,
    you'll need a fast i7 though....
    Fold with what you have,
    Every Work Unit can make a difference.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Age
    68
    Posts
    6,201

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    But thats my point at present I'm not running SMP .. only GPU folding and all my systems are (only) Intel Quads with no reason or $ to change them.

    So now what switches do I run?

    The extra power of these GPU's seems to let me run GPU Folding without complaints from other users.

    I got a little fed up with SMP (loop back adapters and all that) and all that, so stopped doing that, I have 2 systems that I don't mind briging cack to SMP but I will probably only run one instance on each machine.

    BG
    Last edited by Britgeezer; 07-05-2010 at 01:54 AM.
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    Quote Originally Posted by Britgeezer View Post
    But thats my point at present I'm not running SMP .. only GPU folding and all my systems are (only) Intel Quads with no reason or $ to change them.

    So now what switches do I run?

    The extra power of these GPU's seems to let me run GPU Folding without complaints from other users.

    I got a little fed up with SMP (loop back adapters and all that) and all that, so stopped doing that, I have 2 systems that I don't mind briging cack to SMP but I will probably only run one instance on each machine.

    BG
    .

    As far as I remember reading, I thought that they loopback adapter wasn't needed anymore.
    They 're even stepping away from MPI and going for true parallel computing.
    I only had trouble with the new Core in Linux because the parallel working wasn't optimal and only 6 out of 8 threads were use to 100%. End result was very poor at under 50% output from the earlier figures.
    When I changed it to -smp 7 (and off. ran 7 CPU-cores, things got to normal approx., but still there was instability and 'jumping around' to be seen in the CPU-Core usage.
    There 's a bug or two somewhere still ...

    I run my GPU clients with -advmethods and -verbosity 9 only.
    -advmethods to get more interesting public beta WU's (more points)

    Are you using HFM.net yet ?
    ( just another monitor, but an excellent one )

    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Elgin, TX
    Age
    57
    Posts
    763

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    I didn't have any issue with the A3 (-bigadv) units. If its only the A3's, why has Stanford stopped assigning the A2's? Units 2682 & 2683 were A2's, the only A3 I ever received was 2684.

    Folding in memory of Joan Marie 10/16/1959 - 02/21/1968
    Requiescant in pacem

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    Quote Originally Posted by joeyg View Post
    I didn't have any issue with the A3 (-bigadv) units. If its only the A3's, why has Stanford stopped assigning the A2's? Units 2682 & 2683 were A2's, the only A3 I ever received was 2684.
    .

    I don't know / if they stopped one server, they could have been on the same one ?
    Have you checked if those came from the same source ?

    Otherwise, a report to Support or to Dr. Kasson might be in order !

    I can PM him from support / anyone can (his nick is just Kasson)
    I 'll await you reply on the source(s) of those WU's ...


    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Elgin, TX
    Age
    57
    Posts
    763

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    Looks like all the (-bigadv) units come from the same server, 171.67.108.22, regardless of A2 or A3. I'm still getting a variety of A3's, usually good for 12 ~14,000 PPD.

    Folding in memory of Joan Marie 10/16/1959 - 02/21/1968
    Requiescant in pacem

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    near the sea-port of Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    12,856

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    Quote Originally Posted by joeyg View Post
    Looks like all the (-bigadv) units come from the same server, 171.67.108.22, regardless of A2 or A3. I'm still getting a variety of A3's, usually good for 12 ~14,000 PPD.
    .

    I guess they took out that server (in Assignment) and switched it to the Windows systems ...

    .


    Fold with what you have, Every Work Unit will make a difference.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,772

    Re: "BigAdv" suspended under Linux; Windows tests begin

    New bigadv project: p2685 Post a comment
    Peter Kasson has released a new project for bigadv clients: p2685.

    This project continues the work of the previous bigadv units, and has similar characteristics:

    * Studying the mechanisms used by viruses to infect cells with influenza
    * Distributed from 171.67.108.22
    * 1,089,419 atoms
    * Preferred Deadline: 4 days
    * Final Deadline: 6 days
    * 8955 points
    * Bonus factor: 26.4


    This project uses the a3 core, which due to bigadv-related bugs in the Linux version is currently being distributed to Windows and OS X clients only.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •