Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Hacked Post?

  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Hacked Post?

    Hi

    I was just looking over the TDU2 thread in Gaming
    This post: http://forums.pcper.com/showpost.php...8&postcount=12
    had something very strange going on with it.
    Under the No oil pressure, the words oil pressure had become a link. I knew good and well I had NOT put any link on that word. I clicked on it and it went to ebay and had a number of oil pressure gauges, etc.
    I thought, what in the world, how did someone edit my post to add a link there. Anyway, I hit Edit and there was no link. I clicled back and reopened the thread, the link was still there. I was going to quote it and post it here, but then the link was GONE.
    What is going on? How can a post be have a link edited into it and then removed so quickly when I am trying to report? Do we have a hack amongst us?

    Oh, and I did notice it was also in the post below the original that someone else had quoted mine. It too is gone now (the link not the post or the quote).
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    It is now back again.
    Here is a screenshot to show it
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,778

    Re: Hacked Post?

    might be your browser. Some Broswer add ons do that.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    IE 8. No toolbars or google/yahoo search bars or any of that stuff.
    I just ran Malwarebytes and it is showing nothing. I haven't searched for anything related to oil pressure and haven't been to ebay lately.
    Very odd
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,778

    Re: Hacked Post?

    is it still showing b/c It does not show for me on FF
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Yes it is. And I just noticed that a couple post down from that one, the words Flight Simulator also have a link to ebay.
    Could this be something that google is doing? I use standard google as my homepage (no chrome and no search bar). I wonder if this might be part of google spies?
    I mean if it something like that, I can understand the Flight Simulator thing, but not the oil pressure. Unless it thinks because I also go to race sim, F1 and Speed sites it triggers car related things too?

    Whatever it is, I don't like it very much.
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  7. #7
    sttubs is offline Always learning something
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rock Falls, IL
    Age
    53
    Posts
    988

    Re: Hacked Post?

    I'm using IE also & I do not get that linked "oil pressure" like you do.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    This is only happening when I am logged in here. If I am not logged in, it doesn't appear.
    I have ran CCleaner removing pretty much everything in the list. I then open IE and come here. I won't be logged in. Nothing strange with the post mentioned. I log in and the links appears again.
    Malwarebytes still shows nothing wrong.
    No other sites do this. I have went to many different ones today. My normal flight and racing sites. Nothing weird happening, no strange links appearing in threads, etc. All fine.

    Is this some kind of advertisement thing here at this site?
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,447

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Quote Originally Posted by Formula One View Post
    This is only happening when I am logged in here. If I am not logged in, it doesn't appear.
    I have ran CCleaner removing pretty much everything in the list. I then open IE and come here. I won't be logged in. Nothing strange with the post mentioned. I log in and the links appears again.
    Malwarebytes still shows nothing wrong.
    No other sites do this. I have went to many different ones today. My normal flight and racing sites. Nothing weird happening, no strange links appearing in threads, etc. All fine.

    Is this some kind of advertisement thing here at this site?
    I don't believe its advertising, I don't see any links like that in the forums with any browser. I used Google chrome, Firefox, and IE

    Sounds to me like you might have some really persistent malware.


  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Maybe, I don't know. Nothing is showing up and it only does it, that I have seem. I am not getting pop ups, or anything like that. If it is a malware, it is only going to ebay, it seems.
    I will try running malwarebytes in safe mode.
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  11. #11
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Hacked Post?

    I had a quick peak at your account settings and I don't see anything odd about them.

    Try logging in on another computer and see if you still have those links show up. If they don't show up, then its definitely something wrong on your primary computer.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    374

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Rule #1, if Microsoft is broke, use a competing product.

    Mozilla is very customizable. It has addons which prevent those links which you described.
    Chrome is flashy.
    Opera is similar to Mozilla (Smaller code)

    I am sure you could find some other competing products.
    Two power supplies in one case (Connected the green wire) and a Thermaltake 550 PSU in the other.
    Two ASUS M2N-SLI Delux Motherboard
    Athlon X2-6000 and a Phenom 9850
    Big azz 11 bay server tower and a regular 4 bay full size tower. (Noname)
    A speedy PCIe based ATI 1950 chipset and a Radeon 5750 video card.
    4 Gig or 2 Gig Kingston brand (Total 6) DDR2-800 memory
    Around 19 Terabytes in 17 hard drives.
    I refuse to use DVD disks as they die by oxidization, get scratched and would take too many of them to write for the data I have.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spankin Partier View Post
    I had a quick peak at your account settings and I don't see anything odd about them.

    Try logging in on another computer and see if you still have those links show up. If they don't show up, then its definitely something wrong on your primary computer.
    Thank you

    I believe ebay is doing it. Some kind of ad thing. I just chose to opt out.
    I had a ebay ad in my hotmail page. At the bottom it had a 'why did I get this ad' or something alongs those lines. When I clicked on it it said that ebay was collection my web use information to better serve me. They can best serve me by ignoring me, not by annoying me!
    I suppose this is where those links are coming from.
    Pretty soon we will begin to get popups saying we haven't had our daily crap yet and maybe we had better go to the bathroom now. Along with a ad for some fiber cereal, of course.
    System Specs
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-UD3R <> INTEL E8400 AT 4.0GHz (445X9) <> XIGMATEK HDT-S1283R <> 2048(x4) G.SKILL DDR2-1000 <> XFX GEFORCE GTX 285 <> WESTERN DIGITAL 640GB <> REALTEK ALC889A AUDIO <> CORSAIR TX750 <> ASUS DRW-22B1LT DVD <> LOGITECH Z506 5.1 <> ACER 25.5" LCD(x3) <> MATROX TRIPLEHEAD2GO <> LOGITECH G500 <> GENIUS G-PEN F610 <> LOGITECH G25 <> LOGITECH G940 <> RAZER NOSTROMO <> NATURALPOINT TRACK-IR 4 <> 11240/2048 CABLE CONNECTION <> MS VISTA ULTIMATE X64

  14. #14
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Clearwater, Fl. USA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    684

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Hi again

    I checked the proerties of the 'oil pressure' link.
    Here is what it says:

    No idea what this is or where it came from. It doesn't appear ebay, but both links go to ebay. Opting out of that ebay ad thing, didn't make it go away, but I haven't had a ebay ad in my Hotmail page since I did.
    So that makes me wonder if maybe this isn't a part of that?

    Has anyone ever hear of this site before? Any ideas?
    Thanks

  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,843

    Re: Hacked Post?

    Check your internet settings. Have it reset ALL of the settings. ALso, check the Connections Tab and look in the LAN section and make sure that proxy is not enabled. If it is and you did not enable it yourself, then it's definitely malware, which I've been seeing a lot of this nature.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •