Question My kind of motherboard

I look at the motherboards reviewed here and none seem to be of the type I nomally will look for. I've been building my own PC's (mainly for games) for over 15 years now and I always have trouble picking the right motherboard. It seems like they either have every bell and whistle or it's a stripped down version. I guess the things I am looking for or not what most people want?

First off since I am building this for a game I want a motherboard that has no onboard video. I am just gonna disable it so I can put in the graphics board I want.

Second I don't need raid support. I have a Windows Home Server that backs up my gaming maching every night. I really only need a couple of SATA ports.

Sound is ok on the motherboard. I don't have good enough speakers to take advantage of 5.1 sound sound that most motherboards have now. In fact most times I am gaming with headphones on anyway.

So does this website ever review a motherboard that is like this? Sound, Plenty of memory, overclocking, network, sound. And maybe two SATA ports, High end video port, a couple of usb plugs, and the standard keyboard and mouse. I would like to save the money they put into the video and raid so I can buy more cpu, memory, and video.

Anything like that out there?

Re: My kind of motherboard

The problem is that you are not really paying any more money for the onboard video, sound, etc. They are all on chips these days, and in many cases, such as with the AMD chipsets, or the new Intel chips, are integrated right onto the MB chipset, or even the CPU itself, in the case of the Intel.