Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: OC or Not?

  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    OC or Not?

    I'm new to this whole overclocking thing, so please don't get angry with me ):
    So I have an Intel DX58SO motherboard with an Intel i7 920. I assume that to check the processor speed, you'd just right click on Computer in the start menu and click Properties (BTW, I'm in Windows 7 x64). The stock speed on my CPU is 2.67 GHz, and I've overclocked it to a safe 3 GHz, or at least that's what my motherboard says. In the Computer Properties window, it still says it's at 2.67 GHz. Is that supposed to be like that? And if so, how am I supposed to know if the overclock is working?

    And one more question while on the subject: Windows shows my processor as being 8 cores, although it's advertised as a quad core CPU. This isn't a bad thing, I'm just wondering why...

    Thanks!

    - Ben

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: OC or Not?


  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,931

    Re: OC or Not?

    Windows reports the default CPU settings, not what the CPU is actually running at. It gets this info by interrogating the CPU. The BIOS splash screen will play the same game on most systems. CPU-Z as linked above is what you need to see what your CPU is actually running at (anticipates question about SpeedStep... ).

    Each i7 core has two streams which can work semi-independently. If you run SETI for instance, it will show eight precesses at once.


    M

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: OC or Not?

    Quote Originally Posted by PxDEc View Post
    And one more question while on the subject: Windows shows my processor as being 8 cores, although it's advertised as a quad core CPU. This isn't a bad thing, I'm just wondering why...

    Thanks!

    - Ben
    Hyper threading

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand.
    Age
    45
    Posts
    925

    Re: OC or Not?

    Since you have a nice genuine intel board, consider running intels own Desktop Control Centre
    Your mobo is listed as specifically supported.

    Edit, more direct link here : English: IDCC.5.5.0.42.Release
    Last edited by -=SparX=-; 09-11-2010 at 07:08 AM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    40
    Posts
    30,912

    Re: OC or Not?

    When OC need cooling that is excessive but not too excessive. If stock cooling, leave it as it is or smaller overclock that's stable. I'm not very confident about stock cooling with OC though. :/ I'd be confident with better cooling.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •