Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    Hello,

    I've did some searching but still have a few questions about these series of processors. I was wondering when would the L3 cache of the Phenoms be an advantage. It seems that Athlons and Phenoms are about even in some of the benchmark tests from other sites. So if I don't game, what other things would the L3 be advantageous? I'm trying to find a reason for the $30 price difference. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,739

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    one sees a considerable increase in ppd with the added cache when:

    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/Main


    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    If you are just going to type and cruise the internet the Athlons are the way to go. Phenoms are for running big and concurrent programs that work the cpu.


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    Not doing any folding but I want to try some video editing. Would I see a decent increase in performance with the Phenom? Thanks.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    I do a lot of video editing my self.

    If the program used fully utilizes multi core then a high MHz quad core is your choice.

    955 or 965 BE.

    There is a great deal of diffrence beween a dual core and quad core in editing.

    Also I like to use cuda on a nvidia based GPU and a cuda ready video editing program to code movies.

    10 times the speed of a CPU code time.

    as for HD rendering, 9 class 200GT class GPU for nvidia or 3000 4000 and 5000 class for ATI
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    I'm looking at the 635 of the Athlons and 945 and 955 for the Phenoms right now. I'm leaning toward the Phenoms right now but just wanted opinions between the athlon and phenom quad cores.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    Quote Originally Posted by MrAnonymous View Post
    I'm looking at the 635 of the Athlons and 945 and 955 for the Phenoms right now. I'm leaning toward the Phenoms right now but just wanted opinions between the athlon and phenom quad cores.
    well,,,,my thoughts are if you doing video editing, if nothing eles, get a quad cpu, video editing can utilze the extra cores......even the athlon II quads should be fine
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    I think you may have misread my initial post. I was asking about the difference between the athlon II quads and phenom II quads. Either way, you are right about about getting a quad core. Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by geekkyyy View Post
    well,,,,my thoughts are if you doing video editing, if nothing eles, get a quad cpu, video editing can utilze the extra cores......even the athlon II quads should be fine
    Last edited by MrAnonymous; 09-18-2010 at 05:29 AM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Long Beach CA
    Age
    60
    Posts
    4,773

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    if you are sticking with AMD... and that's not a bad thing as I continue to use AMD. and you are planning on doing video editing then a I would go with the 965 PII X4. I believe the highest clocked Ath II quad is 2.9 GHz and the 965 is 3.4. I know someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

    looking at the Anandtech bench beta on a clock for clock comparison the Athlon quads are just slightly slower than Phenom quads but the extra speed of the 965 makes a difference.
    Game - BIOSTAR TA785 A2+ / Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 125W / Patroit 8GB DDR2 800 CAS 4 Timing: 4-4-4-12 / Sapphire HD 6870 1GB / Antec Three Hundred Case / PC Power & Cooling S61EPS 610W / X-Fi XtremeGamer / Western Digital 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s /Windows Vista home premium 64 SP1

    Back up - Biostar 6100-939 / A64 3800 Venice(Stock 2.4) / 1.5 GB Corsair XMS 3200 / HD3870

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    If you are serious about video editing and use a multi-threaded the AMD X6 is the way to go. The 1055T is under $200 about $30 more than the X4 965. I realize that wasn't your question.

    Both the Athlon II and Phenon II quads can be overclocked without much difficulty to negate differences in stock clock speed. The Phenom II's probably clock a bit higher though. I have a Athlon II X2 running at 3.6 Ghz for example. I think it really comes down to how much the L3 cache affects performance for non-gaming applications which is what you asked. Haven't been able to find anything on the net on that subject? There has to be many reviews comparing the Athlon II to Phenom II X4.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    I'm not that serious about the video editing. More like a hobby thing to edit home movies. That's why I'm looking at quad cores. I can't justify the cost for a 6 core yet.
    I plan to stay stock speed and not overclock. I have looked at some reviews of the Athlon vs Phenoms and as Rayboy said, they don't seem to be far off performancewise. I'd rather ask here tho since I seem to get better, more unbiased answers here that I'll trust. Some of the other places seem to be biased toward one brand or tweak settings.
    That being said, I'm going to see what I can cut to free up some $$ for a X4 965.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    2,292

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    This article should clear things up for ya-
    it shows that there is very little differnce in video editing , athlon II X4 VS Phenom X4........but if you want the absolute highest performance level, of course the phenom would be you choice.............tomshardware did the test with each cpu at 2.6 ghz, it was stated that above 2.6 ghz, the phenom,s scale much better than the athlon X4,S
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ache,2416.html
    Last edited by geekkyyy; 09-19-2010 at 04:48 PM.
    #1-i5-4690k-msi z97 gaming 5- msi gtx 1060 6gb- lg ud 68 4k monitor
    #2-amd phenom II x6 1100T-gigabyte 990fxa ud3-xfx 480 4gb- asus pb 278 2k moitor
    #3-i5-2400- biostar tzz77-msi 480 4gb- asus vx24a 2k monitor
    #4-dell inspiron 1520-8600 gt

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    121

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    I actually read the article geekkyyy. Thanks all the same. That's the one that made me ask on here. From all the replies here, I think I'll get a Phenom quad. Might as well have L3 and not need it than need it and not have it.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    380

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    Just posted this review: http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=1005

    It covers all of the Athlon II and Phenom II high end processors that are soon to be available.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: Athlon II x4 vs Phenom II x4

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshMST View Post
    Just posted this review: http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=1005

    It covers all of the Athlon II and Phenom II high end processors that are soon to be available.
    just read your review ! Good Job !
    new egg allready has the 970 in stock ... tempting !
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •