Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2002
    Posts
    377

    best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    here is the deal. I have w7 and its legit. got it from New Egg. I had it on my old machine which has been completely taken apart and hard drive wiped.

    now. my nephew sold me a new machine so i had him install w7 that I had on it. it works now but wont let me register it.

    so what do I need to do? call MS? if so how do I need to resolve it?

    I am not about to buy another W7 just cause I am on new machine now.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,772

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    Call MS with Serial Number. Should not be an issue. BTW what version of W7 and is it OEM or Retail? OEM is usually tied into the system it was 1st installed on but may not be an issue.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    343

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    You have to ask him to use the phone activation method instead of the online method. Each time you install on a different motherboard for OEM copies, you must use the phone activation to explicitly state you're only using it on one computer to transfer the activation. After you activate with set hardware that isn't going to change, all subsequent activations can be made online.

    If you change your hardware, it will require you to re-activate again. A video card change can trigger this.

    ----
    PC #1:

    also see profile System Specs and Mods Rigs link
    ----
    PC #2: Lenovo X200t 7449-9EU
    Core 2 Duo SL9400 1.86Ghz
    Intel GS45 chipset - 4500MHD Graphics
    Corsair 2x2GB DDR3-1333 @ 1066 8-8-8-20
    Intel X25-V 40GB
    Wacom Penabled (only MS programs)
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Corruptfornia
    Posts
    3,785

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    I have had some of the oddest things trying to get 7
    activated if I had to reinstall. Finally I got it figured
    out...I think. When I tried to reinstall and use the
    activation key, MS would state it was invalid or already
    in use even though I've done a reformat and fresh
    custom install. This was/is very irritating.

    Anyway I tried this and it has worked 2 times already.
    It sounds like a lot of work and time, and I guess it is
    and as mickey mouse as one can get, but so far so good.

    I installed a version of XP on the drive and activated it.
    Then I did an install with 7 after a reformat and it has
    on both occasions taken the activation key. I don't
    know why, but it has worked..

    I never used that phone activation option mentioned above,
    but I will in the future. Sure sounds a lot easier than what
    I've come up with.
    Last edited by no2guncntrl; 10-09-2010 at 10:44 PM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York, USA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,349

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    no2gunctrl, it sounds like you have the upgrade version. The way to get that installed is to install it and CANCEL the activation during the install. Once it's done installing, run the activation wizard and activate it. Did this on my dad's computer for a clean install, no problems.
    Coolermaster Cosmos 1000 700 watt Thermaltake modular PSU
    Asus Crosshair III Formula
    Phenom II X4 955 BE
    4 GB OCZ BE
    EVGA GeForce GTX260 Core 216 896 MB
    WD 1600JB (7200 RPM, 160 GB, 8 MB cache), external drive now
    Samsung DVD burner
    WD1000FALS 1 TB

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2002
    Posts
    377

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    its actually a OEM system builder version. I hadnt realized it. I havnt seen the notice for activation either. not sure if I need to mess with it or not.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Corruptfornia
    Posts
    3,785

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    Quote Originally Posted by mlevy View Post
    no2gunctrl, it sounds like you have the upgrade version. The way to get that installed is to install it and CANCEL the activation during the install. Once it's done installing, run the activation wizard and activate it. Did this on my dad's computer for a clean install, no problems.
    Thank you for the tip ! Yes I neglected to mention the W7 Pro is a MS update version in 32 & 64.
    Last edited by no2guncntrl; 10-17-2010 at 09:50 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    343

    Re: best way to get my w7 registered. I am having an issue

    Quote Originally Posted by gentlejax View Post
    its actually a OEM system builder version. I hadnt realized it. I havnt seen the notice for activation either. not sure if I need to mess with it or not.
    You should use the phone method then. And remember to say that you are only using 1 computer for the # of machines this copy of Windows is installed on. (Cause that's how it should be)

    ----
    PC #1:

    also see profile System Specs and Mods Rigs link
    ----
    PC #2: Lenovo X200t 7449-9EU
    Core 2 Duo SL9400 1.86Ghz
    Intel GS45 chipset - 4500MHD Graphics
    Corsair 2x2GB DDR3-1333 @ 1066 8-8-8-20
    Intel X25-V 40GB
    Wacom Penabled (only MS programs)
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •