Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Problem logging into my Linksys router

    I'm having a problem with my wireless LAN. I'm trying to log on with my laptop but it cannot get an IP address from the router (LinkSys WRT-54g). I think that I may have the allowed connections set too low in the router.

    So, I am trying to log into the router by typing 192.168.1.1 into the address bar on Firefox (no http:// , just the IP address). This has always worked in the past and opens up the LinkSys router login page. For some reason, this is no longer working and I am getting the message that the server has timed out.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    Well I rebooted the router and that let the laptop log on, so half of my problem is solved. I still can't login to the router to change settings though.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    64

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    reset the router

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    Quote Originally Posted by stumblingblock View Post
    reset the router
    I tried that. I still cannot login to the router.

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    4,137

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    perhaps the wireless router access is disabled, you'll need to hookup a network cable to laptop then access your router, and in the settings re-enable wireless access

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    Quote Originally Posted by MousePotato View Post
    perhaps the wireless router access is disabled, you'll need to hookup a network cable to laptop then access your router, and in the settings re-enable wireless access
    I'm sorry but I must have confused the issue. I WAS having a problem with wireless access on one laptop, but that problem went away when I rebooted the router. Wireless access is no longer a problem. I have one laptop and one desktop running wireless without any problems.

    The remaining problem is that I cannot login to the router settings page to change settings on the router. When I put 192.168.1.1 into a Firefox address bar, I get a 'server timeout' error. If I put 192.168.1.1 into IE address bar, it adds http:// to the address and it returns a Bing search page with results for a search for "192.168.1.1".

    I am used to putting 192.168.1.1 into the address bar and going to the Linksys router login page. For some reason, this no longer works and that is the problem that I need help with.

    Thanks!

    Yogi

  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    I just solved the problem.

    I forgot that the last time that I logged into the router that I reset the login to use a secured login (https://192.168.1.1/). I just tried adding the s and I logged in without a problem.

    I'm sorry for the waste of time caused by my own error and faulty memory. Thanks to all who tried to help me!

    Yogi

  8. #8
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,450

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    nevermind


  9. #9
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    One of three possible issues I see could be happening here:

    1. You may be connecting to another network now rather then your own. Thus this other network's router could be a different IP address. Check the SSID of the network you're on to see if it matches your network.
    2. The router may be on a different address block. Check the IP address assigned to your computer (open a command prompt window and type ipconfig to see your assigned IP address). The IP address you're receiving could be 192.168.0.XXX which would mean you need to type 192.168.0.1 into your browser.
    3. The router may now be configured to only connect securely for configuring via SSL encryption. If this is the case, you'll need to add https:// in front of IP address. Firefox only adds http:// automatically so for encrypted sites you are required to add https://.
    4. The router may be configured not to allow access to its configuration via wireless connections. In this case you'll need to connect to the router via an Ethernet cable and try again.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    Oh good. I see you got it fixed!

    Too bad I didn't type faster. I may have gotten you in the right direction sooner.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    League City, TX
    Posts
    84

    Re: Problem logging into my Linksys router

    Quote Originally Posted by Spankin Partier View Post
    One of three possible issues I see could be happening here:

    1. You may be connecting to another network now rather then your own. Thus this other network's router could be a different IP address. Check the SSID of the network you're on to see if it matches your network.
    2. The router may be on a different address block. Check the IP address assigned to your computer (open a command prompt window and type ipconfig to see your assigned IP address). The IP address you're receiving could be 192.168.0.XXX which would mean you need to type 192.168.0.1 into your browser.
    3. The router may now be configured to only connect securely for configuring via SSL encryption. If this is the case, you'll need to add https:// in front of IP address. Firefox only adds http:// automatically so for encrypted sites you are required to add https://.
    4. The router may be configured not to allow access to its configuration via wireless connections. In this case you'll need to connect to the router via an Ethernet cable and try again.
    Thanks for the comprehensive reply, Spankin Partier! It was #3 in your post (see my explaination, above).

    Thanks again!

    Yogi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •