Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Loves Park, Illinois
    Posts
    2,540

    budget am3 upgrade

    I want to move up to a am3 system I"m not doing a complete build I'm just upgrading mobo,cpu, ram, psu, and gpu. Im just looking for your opinions but id have to stay in price range of what all these come out to. I didn't put a graphics card I"m lost as to what to go for but I am looking at the HIS 5770. Lastly I chose a psu because I have a 400w one right now and I dont think it be enough for this new system you guys agree?

    ASRock M3A770DE AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157176


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103817
    AMD Phenom II X2 545 Callisto

    Combo deal 4gb corsair ram and coolmaster 500w
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.578314

  2. #2
    sttubs is offline Always learning something
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rock Falls, IL
    Age
    53
    Posts
    988

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    It's pretty good for the price, if this set-up is what your budget is.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Toronto, CANADA
    Posts
    1,392

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    Do you think you should consider the amd ii x4 for $25 more? It's quad core instead of dual core
    Intel E6750 C2D
    400x8 (3.2GHz) 32C idle/58C Load @ stock 1.31V/HSF | Gigabyte DS3R Rev 1 bios F13 | OCZ XTC Rev 2 @4-4-4-15 | Antec Sonata 3 500W | Palit 8800GT driver v.169.21 | WD 500GB | 22" 226BW | Logitech x-540 5.1

    AMD64 (754) 3000+ @2GHz |
    | ASUS K8N-E DLX BIOS 1.11 | 512x 2 OCZ Premier DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 | Antec Sonata 380W | 9600 Pro 128MB | 19" 930B

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Loves Park, Illinois
    Posts
    2,540

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    I still prefer the phenom over the amd ii and the chance to unlock for 25less. If it doesn't work 2cores still more than what i need

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Loves Park, Illinois
    Posts
    2,540

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    I didn't see this before but i'm wondering how would a amd athlon 2 x3 be for the same price of the phenom ii x2? Seems like only differance is L3 cache

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2006
    Location
    east coast
    Posts
    496

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by afoctober2 View Post
    I'm not doing a complete build I'm just upgrading mobo,cpu, ram, psu, and gpu.
    That's funny right there

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Loves Park, Illinois
    Posts
    2,540

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    I meant as far as having to buy a case hard drive and windows saves me at least 250

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    S.W. VA.
    Posts
    839

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    You'll be fine running the x2 if thats all you think you'll need. Me personally would opt for the x4 just to future proof some. But of course I like excessiveness.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NY
    Age
    39
    Posts
    135

    Re: budget am3 upgrade

    Some links for mobo/cpu combo.
    AMD FX4100 combo 184.00
    http://sys.1stchoicememory.com/produ....ashx?id=79288
    -
    Over all combos
    http://www.pricewatch.com/motherboard_combos/
    I would get
    AMD Phenom II X4 class or AMD Athlon II X4 class.
    or
    A6-3670K
    http://sys.1stchoicememory.com/produ....ashx?id=79273
    That has adecent GPU bult in and is new tec.
    Happy hunting hope you get one to make ya happy
    Intel Core i5-3570K ASUS P8B75-V CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB corsair 850w Ati 7870
    http://www.mnuclan.com/

    -

    -
    --http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=63401

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •