Unhappy Onboard ethernet not showing up in device manager

Hello!

I'm a newbie to this forum and would like some assistance with my onboard ethernet.

I have a K8Triton series nForce4 Mobo and it has a internal peripheral MAC LAN thing which is set on automatic which enables the LAN ROM however this device doesnt appear when i check in device management and I have no yellow exclamation marks :/

What's more worrying is that all the drivers that came in the nForce4 series utility CD have all been installed - this includes the nVIDIA Ethernet Driver.

I've tried accessing nVIDIA ForceWare Network Access Manager to see if I could fix my problem but i repeatedly receive the the notice ' NVIDIA Hardware/Driver not found.'

I'm currently operating on Windows xp 32 home edition and have about 1gb of RAM.

If anyone can help, please! - I'd really like my internet back :/

Re: Onboard ethernet not showing up in device manager

Uninstall NAM, never did work right. Make sure Ethernet is enabled in BIOS (turn off Lan boot etc)

edit, do you have a realtec (not sound) or other chip on that board? Uninstall the nVidia driver as well and see if windows auto detects another ethernet chip.
    Last edited by TheGlasMan; 01-10-2011 at 12:31 PM.

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

thanks for the quick response!

I didn't manage to install NAM due to the software not being able to detect Nvidia hardware/driver so theres no need to uninstall it

I've downloaded the ethernet driver countless times from the nvidia utility cd and in addition im positive that the MAC LAN is on [AUTO] which naturally enables the LAN ROM however i still havent got access to the internet nor is the integrated ethernet device on the device manager :/