Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dlink DIR-655

  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    934

    Dlink DIR-655

    I need a new router, but am hesitant to buy a 4 year old model. I was looking at this or a Linksys E2500. The Linksys is only 10/100. Will the gigabit port make a big difference?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,831

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    Depends...

    Do you move a lot of files around your home network ?; If so Gigabit ports are a huge difference.


  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    934

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    Not usually. My Buffalo is slowly dying. I have never had to reset the thing... All I want is a router I can set up and not have to power cycle every day,week, or month. It seems like everything out there has to be reset. I couldn't find any reviews on the new Linksys stuff and don't know if I want to be a guinea pig.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    5,831

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    Quote Originally Posted by montyface View Post
    Not usually. My Buffalo is slowly dying. I have never had to reset the thing... All I want is a router I can set up and not have to power cycle every day,week, or month. It seems like everything out there has to be reset. I couldn't find any reviews on the new Linksys stuff and don't know if I want to be a guinea pig.
    I have a DIR-655...Been in service for a few years now.

    I never have to reset it, and I transfer files to my home server every night.

    I also host the backup Teamspeak server for the Fragging Frogs, Never had an issues with needing to re-boot the router

    Hope this helps

    Matt


  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    934

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    I read lots of positive reviews on the 655. I'm hesitant to buy 4 year old tech though.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    48
    Posts
    9,688

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    Have one and it works
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    934

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    ok...thanks

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    I'm hesitant to buy 4 year old tech though.
    Honestly there hasn't been a significant change in technology to be concerned with this point, the big advantage is about how long this product has been out.

    The more eyes you have on the product the more its performance and flaws are known and can can be corrected.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    934

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    just ordered the dlink and an asus n adaptor. thanks for the replies.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    475

    Re: Dlink DIR-655

    I am also in the market for a router as my Qwest pk5000 just isn't cutting it... I am wondering though, If I set up my current qwest router/modem unit to bridged or transparent mode, will this DIR-655 be able to dial out and handle the PPoE connection? I have done a setup like this before at another house where I had the qwest modem set up in bridging mode and let the linksys router actually log into our ISP for our connection, worked wonderfully.

    If this is the case, I will be purchasing this router as it is only 70$ right now on newegg with free shipping. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127215

    If not that one I was considering it's newer relative the DGL-4500. What are is the difference other than the dual band wireless? And why does that even matter?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •