Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    418

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    I have an identical spare MB...maybe I'll change it our tonight and see what results I get
    There are three kinds of people, those who can count, and those who can't.

  2. #17
    Joined
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Posts
    466

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    Quote Originally Posted by harleyx View Post
    SO, there is no way to build a new computer using am SSD drive unless you have another comp to format the drive?
    That seems odd
    It is quite common for HDDs to be sent out un-initialised, especially if they are OEM (white-box/non-retail boxed). I know that is what I get when I order online.

    See if you can use a friends PC to initialise the SSD or insatll windows onto a spare HDD and then setup your SSD from there.

    So did you try the other mobo and/or cables?

  3. #18
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    418

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    Ive tried other cables, PC SATA card and MB sata plugs...and another PC for the SSD, it is not found.
    But I still cannot get my old MB to recognize a SATA HD
    There are three kinds of people, those who can count, and those who can't.

  4. #19
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,450

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    Quote Originally Posted by harleyx View Post
    Ive tried other cables, PC SATA card and MB sata plugs...and another PC for the SSD, it is not found.
    But I still cannot get my old MB to recognize a SATA HD
    Ok, Sounds like a defective SSD...

    Any of your old drives? which you said already worked fine ?


  5. #20
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    418

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    They actually crapped out, thats why I bought the SSD
    There are three kinds of people, those who can count, and those who can't.

  6. #21
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    418

    Re: Install Win XP on OCZ SSD...NOT!

    Well, I can now say changing the MB sees no changes from my previous grief.

    When trying to install my original SATA HD, windows install recognized and (says it is ) repairing it.
    I go through the hour long process only to have windows boot up my background and freeze up every time.


    GRRRRRR!
    Last edited by harleyx; 06-21-2011 at 10:47 PM.
    There are three kinds of people, those who can count, and those who can't.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •