Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    I'm looking for a set of 2.1s that will be plugged into my house's TV, or possibly my PC if its significantly better than my current system.

    The living room isnt that big. The couch is only about 7 feet away from the 52" screen. I don't need anything that will fill the room with sound because the adjacent neighbors will get bothered. But I would like something more immersive than the current TV speakers, and a nice Sub would be wonderful.

    I would prefer to keep the budget at 150$ max, which is already double than the set of 7.1s I bought for my PC 5 years ago. I'm not an audiophile or anything, but I would like a good setup that will last me for a decade.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    I'm thinking about getting these:
    http://www.amazon.com/M-Audio-Studio...dp_ob_title_ce

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    11,619

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    I loved my AV40's, but they do have some reliability issues. Do a google search.
    I went with a pair of Parts express speakers: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-652, and an amp also from Parts Express: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-383
    The speakers are very impressived, once again check reviews, they sound waaayyy above their price point. And the little amp works very well and is a good match. This combo simply blows away and 2-channel computers I have ever heard, for $130.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    It does seem like theres a reason MAUDIO only has a 1 year warranty.

    I'm definitely thinking about the Parts one. My god those are cheap. Are the amps really needed?

    Add:

    I'm gonna order the Daytons. For 40$, what the heck. Amps are just to make it louder right? If its loud enough out the box, I wont need an amp right?
    Last edited by fatlazyhomer; 09-03-2011 at 12:02 AM.

  5. #5
    sttubs is offline Always learning something
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rock Falls, IL
    Age
    48
    Posts
    949

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    I bought the Logitech Z523s for my son & my daugther's rooms. They have the computer hooked up & an Ipod, both sound great. The bass is pretty impressive for it's size. The part I liked is the bass has it's own volume separate from the overall speaker volume. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...21036&Tpk=z523

    Edit: Were you looking for a powered setup like I posted or were you looking for something like the non-powered Daytons?
    Last edited by sttubs; 09-03-2011 at 01:28 PM.
    AMD 8350 w/Xigmatek Dark Knight Night Hawk Ed - Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0 w/4x4gb GSkill Ripjaws 1600 CL7 - WD Black WD2003FZEX 2TB - EVGA GTX 780 Ti SuperClocked - Win 7 Premium 64bit - Lite-On iHES108 - White Corsair 500r w/Corsair AX860i 860W - ASUS VG248QE 144Hz

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=55337
    Ebay: http://myworld.ebay.com/sttubs/

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    11,619

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    Quote Originally Posted by fatlazyhomer View Post
    It does seem like theres a reason MAUDIO only has a 1 year warranty.

    I'm definitely thinking about the Parts one. My god those are cheap. Are the amps really needed?

    Add:

    I'm gonna order the Daytons. For 40$, what the heck. Amps are just to make it louder right? If its loud enough out the box, I wont need an amp right?
    No, you will need the amp. The sound card is just a line-level signal that wont power speakers.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    I'm hooking it up to my TV. Will I still need the amp?

    Im looking at this amp:
    http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-D...ecc_rvi_cart_2

    Its just for my living room. Should I spring for the 50w? That seems a tad excessive.

    I just saw this on the front page of slickdeals:
    http://slickdeals.net/forums/showthread.php?t=3276846

    Should I get it and put it next to the couch?
    Last edited by fatlazyhomer; 09-03-2011 at 09:03 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    Ok, I ordered the sub too. Now its just the amp I gotta figure out.

    I'm also thinking about either one of these:

    http://www.amazon.com/Lepai-Tripath-.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

    http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=248-462

    I just realized the speakers I ordered use spring clips. I'm not familiar with this format, but it doesnt look too difficult to set up. But will I have to order the wires separate?
    Last edited by fatlazyhomer; 09-03-2011 at 11:34 PM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    Ok, so I got the speakers and the Lepai Amp.

    Hooked em up, and they sound good.

    But how do I hook up the sub when I get that? The Line-Out for my TV is going into the Line-In for the Amp, and the Amp is going to the speakers. How do I hook up another Line-Out for the sub? Do I get RCA splitters?

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    57
    Posts
    11,619

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    You can get rca splitters for the sub, or even easier you can run the speaker wires to the sub's speaker level inputs. You can run speaker wires to both speakers and the sub from the speaker outs on the amp. Since the sub is only using to signal to amplify, there is no danger to the amp running it hooked up to both speakers and sub.
    Last edited by John C; 09-08-2011 at 07:18 PM.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    Thanks, I shall try that.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,504

    Re: Recommend me a set of 2.1s?

    Unfortunately the sub got damaged in shipping. The plugs were torn half off. I filed for RMA, but I was able to hook it up anyways. This did seem to put additional strain on the amp though. I can barely turn the knob 1/4 now before it'll start shorting out.

    I'm going to return this AMP and get a bigger one. But this one is rated at 20W per channel, and the one you have is only at 25W.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •