Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    when my GPU kicks in, the hard drive (I've tried two, not that failing) shuts down and spins back up and down again causing some nasty noise and windows to become unresponsive in some of these "surges" but everything is still posting and my games don't shut down. 530 watt raidmax hybrid seems sufficient for a stock clocked i5 2500k and a GTX 260. Something I'm missing? Only seems to be happening in game when the GPU starts up.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,390

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    PS has 2 12 volt rails, maybe you have too much on one rail ? It's modular but I can't see on their site how the outputs are set up. Move the cables/connections around to balance the power or move the hard drives off the same powerline as the gpu ?
    Last edited by CMB; 11-28-2011 at 05:11 AM.
    #1 Asus P5E-VM HDMI (htpc backup)
    2x 2gb Corsair Q6600 7900gt
    Wd 250gb sata, NEC dvd burner
    Antec Neo 480,Avermedia a180 HDTV,Cooler Master Mystique case
    LG L246WP-BN 24" widescreen monitor,Vista Home Premium
    #2 HTPC Athlon64 AM2 5000+ BE x2, CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ABIT AN-M2, TV Wonder 650 PRO, HauppaugeWinTV-HVR-1600
    ASUS EN8600GT SILENT, LG BluRay/HD dvd combo
    250gb Wd sata II,Xgene HTPC case +Scythe and SilentX fans
    Panasonic AX100 projector + 106" Graywolf screen, Vista Home
    Premium
    #3 Asus Eee 4g

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    I'll give that a try now. I will post back in the morning if anything happens.

    EDIT1: Changed connector, changed which modual I was using still seems to be doing it.

    EDIT2: Don't know if this is of any help to anyone, used CPUID HWMonitor http://pastebin.com/X98hq5nd
    Last edited by XIIISlaughters; 11-28-2011 at 08:49 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,390

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    Don't know if the voltage readings are correct as some are way off.
    Do you have voltage readings in bios, they may be more accurate.
    #1 Asus P5E-VM HDMI (htpc backup)
    2x 2gb Corsair Q6600 7900gt
    Wd 250gb sata, NEC dvd burner
    Antec Neo 480,Avermedia a180 HDTV,Cooler Master Mystique case
    LG L246WP-BN 24" widescreen monitor,Vista Home Premium
    #2 HTPC Athlon64 AM2 5000+ BE x2, CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ABIT AN-M2, TV Wonder 650 PRO, HauppaugeWinTV-HVR-1600
    ASUS EN8600GT SILENT, LG BluRay/HD dvd combo
    250gb Wd sata II,Xgene HTPC case +Scythe and SilentX fans
    Panasonic AX100 projector + 106" Graywolf screen, Vista Home
    Premium
    #3 Asus Eee 4g

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by CMB View Post
    Don't know if the voltage readings are correct as some are way off.
    Do you have voltage readings in bios, they may be more accurate.
    Cpu vcore: 1.224
    dram: 1.584
    vcc SA:0.936
    Vcc IO 1.068
    12v 11.752
    5v 4.585

    thats all i could see.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,390

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    5v is out of spec ( > 5% below optimum )
    Whether that could be the problem ....hard to tell
    Really need to check with multimeter to see exactly what you have on the 5v and 12v and perhaps monitor it during the "surge".
    #1 Asus P5E-VM HDMI (htpc backup)
    2x 2gb Corsair Q6600 7900gt
    Wd 250gb sata, NEC dvd burner
    Antec Neo 480,Avermedia a180 HDTV,Cooler Master Mystique case
    LG L246WP-BN 24" widescreen monitor,Vista Home Premium
    #2 HTPC Athlon64 AM2 5000+ BE x2, CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ABIT AN-M2, TV Wonder 650 PRO, HauppaugeWinTV-HVR-1600
    ASUS EN8600GT SILENT, LG BluRay/HD dvd combo
    250gb Wd sata II,Xgene HTPC case +Scythe and SilentX fans
    Panasonic AX100 projector + 106" Graywolf screen, Vista Home
    Premium
    #3 Asus Eee 4g

  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,125

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    11.75V and 4.59V on the 12 and 5v rail seems a bit "weak" when you look at the bios for voltage you do not have a big load on the psu and I'm quite sure those numbers would drop some more when under load. (like when the video card needs extra power)
    Raidmax aren't known for quality psu either...
    Whats the amperage like on the 5 and 12v line ? (should see this on a sticker on the psu)

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Hard Drive problem, could be anything.

    I figured out the issue. Took an old 450 PSU out to see what was up. Using it to power my hard drives and the Raidmax for the rest of the system, I found that even with just the GPU running on the rail it would totally cut out still. The problem was that the GPU drew more then the rail could take. The motherboard gets one rail and the molex and GPU are on another.

    Weird they give you two PCI-E, and it's SLI ready, but it can't even power one card. Not sure if I'd want to spend my money on a Raidmax PSU again. They market it way more powerful then it seems to be. Ordered a CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 that I seen on the HW leader boards that fitted my specs. For now, this dual PSU set up seem to temporarily work until that gets here. Thanks much for the help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •