View Poll Results: Which F@H Client are you using?

Voters
13. You may not vote on this poll
  • F@H Tracker V2 (CPU/SMP/Bigadv)

    3 23.08%
  • F@H Tracker V2 (GPU)

    1 7.69%
  • Windows V7

    2 15.38%
  • Windows Console

    5 38.46%
  • Windows Graphical

    0 0%
  • Linux Console

    7 53.85%
  • PS3

    2 15.38%
  • Other (please mention in thread)

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    What Clients are you using?

    Just curious what clients people are running. You can select multiple clients if you have multiple rigs, so make sure to check all those that apply

    Note: I did not include version numbers because it would have gotten crazy. Feel free to add that info in this thread
    Last edited by Activate: AMD; 12-19-2011 at 04:03 PM.


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,447

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    Well,

    I'm contemplating adding my "home server" to my folding setup.

    Not sure if it's worth the power costs though.


  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,778

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    when I was folding it was F@H Tracker V2 (CPU/SMP/Bidgav),F@H Tracker V2 (GPU) and PS3 now its just been PS3
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    v6.34 SMP (not bigadv).

    14 of them...

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    more linux people than I expected! Keep that data coming


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Age
    50
    Posts
    341

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    i was using the gpu folder, but i think the gpu clients smoked a video card or two.. so i am back to smp only.
    LOTS of Koolance water cooling hardware/cases/coolers/ for sale cheap. PM if interested.


  7. #7
    Joined
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NY
    Age
    39
    Posts
    135

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    Quote Originally Posted by shredder View Post
    i was using the gpu folder, but i think the gpu clients smoked a video card or two.. so i am back to smp only.
    Yep i think i had same thing.
    Now the Ps3 does the work
    Intel Core i5-3570K ASUS P8B75-V CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB corsair 850w Ati 7870
    http://www.mnuclan.com/

    -

    -
    --http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=63401

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Age
    68
    Posts
    6,201

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Well,

    I'm contemplating adding my "home server" to my folding setup.

    Not sure if it's worth the power costs though.
    Depends on the CPU and what GPU you might use with your HS. My Home server runs GPU Folding since its on 24/7, the only PC I don't make shutdown to conserve power.

    Of course you need to do the calculation on CPU vs GPU units.

    My problem is that shortly I will upgrade the server and the new config will no longer need a GPU ..
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    Re: What Clients are you using?

    Quote Originally Posted by Britgeezer View Post
    Depends on the CPU and what GPU you might use with your HS. My Home server runs GPU Folding since its on 24/7, the only PC I don't make shutdown to conserve power.

    Of course you need to do the calculation on CPU vs GPU units.

    My problem is that shortly I will upgrade the server and the new config will no longer need a GPU ..
    if you're using a higher-end sandybridge chip (2500+), I believe that the best PPD/$ is to run exclusively the SMP client. with QRB that will net you roughly equal to the PPD supplied by a GTX 560 (IIRC) but at only 95W vs ~200W. Of course, you could run both but you'd be tripling your power consumption and increasing PPD by less than 2X. If only we could get half of the people on this forum running sandybridge 2500 or 2600k's to put F@H on their rigs!

    Unfortunately, when you look at the costs of GPU folding, its very hard to make a great argument for it in any case other than single rig contributors. If you're building a farm your best option is to lay out enough up-front for a 2-4P rig and reap a huge savings on power alone relative to a bunch of boxes packed full of GPU's making the same PPD.


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •