View Poll Results: what should i do

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • return memory faulty ?

    0 0%
  • overclock motherboard

    0 0%
  • seek specialist advice

    0 0%
  • ignore, and add two further sticks of 800mhz to this machine along side the existing 1066mhz

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Exclamation Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    Hi there, I'm new to the forum, and need some help. Recently last year I purchased some memory Kingston Hyper 4GB PC2-8500 CL7 240 DIMM Kit (2 pieces). These were installed on my Gigabyte GA-MA762DSH2 (something like that) motherboard. I noticed the clock speeds did not change, and further to contact gigabyte I was informed the memory needs a better processor than my AM2+ 4000, 2.1ghz 64 bit x 2 processor, so I upgraded to an AMD Phenom II x4 965, hoping this would resolve the issue.

    Memory spec provided by gigabyte are given below.

    http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX8500AD2K2_4G.pdf


    The results, still the same, spoke to Gigabyte and they suggested the following:

    "Gigabyte bios read the memory SPD value, according to the KHX8500AD2K2/4G specification the SPD programmed at 800MHz. You can try to manually adjust the memory timing and we not guarantee the performance."

    and

    "Hi,

    You may try the setting in MIT BIOS Setup Menu.

    Alternatively you may install the memory on the memory support list. "


    http://download.gigabyte.ru/memory/motherboard_memory_ga-ma78gm-s2hp_rev.2.0.pdf



    Also noticed core one is going to 70% and when playing music I hear scratch sound towards end or middle of the songs I play on ITunes. Is this normal ??



    http://www.flickr.com/photos/3658718...ream/lightbox/




    I don't know how you go about changing settings in BIOS, anyone out there facing the same issue of the memory showing only 800mhz, and identified at PC 6400, and not 8500 which it should be ?


    Please help

    Regards


    Stu

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    hey stu

    this the ram your using?

    http://www.directron.com/khx8500ad2k24g.html

    http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX8500AD2K2_4G.pdf

    can you verify the board model and maybe a link to the gigabyte site?

    have you downloaded this yet?

    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
    ud
    Last edited by uddarts; 01-25-2012 at 12:29 AM.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    hey man i thnk so yeah, and i got all them tools, but still doesnt explain why the memory doing that. Gigabyte gave me ths link.


    http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KHX8500AD2K2_4G.pdf

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    most motherboards default to 800mhz. what you need to do is set it manually in the bios.

    in mb intelligent tweaker, first set the voltage control to manual and the ddr voltage to 2.0v, save and exit. that lock in the new higher voltage. then re-enter the bios and change the memory clock to manual and x5.33, save and exit. you can verify with cpuz in windows.

    might be a good idea to test the ram with memory86.

    http://www.memtest.org/

    the core usage bounces around. it's not unusual.

    as for the scratching, don't really know. have you updated the drivers from realtek?


    ud
    Last edited by uddarts; 01-28-2012 at 12:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    hey dude, it could be the scratching is my processor not handling, cos i notice that one core in particular, number 1, goes thru the roof, and then there is a buzz sound, and then the computer resumes as normal. Also when playing music on ITunes etc, i hear a crack/pause sound half way thru each song.

    Hard Drive ?

    As for memory I will check, and as for fsb 800mhz for motherboard, I'm interested to know how to raise it without damaging my memory/motherboard.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    most motherboards default to 800mhz. what you need to do is set it manually in the bios.

    in mb intelligent tweaker, first set the voltage control to manual and the ddr voltage to 2.0v, save and exit. that lock in the new higher voltage. then re-enter the bios and change the memory clock to manual and x5.33, save and exit. you can verify with cpuz in windows.

    might be a good idea to test the ram with memory86.

    http://www.memtest.org/

    the core usage bounces around. it's not unusual.

    as for the scratching, don't really know. have you updated the drivers from realtek?


    ud

    DONE ALL THIS> It worked for a short while then I got a BSOD - Pool Error

  8. #8
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,684

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    so does this pool error happen with every boot?

    did you try backing it down to 800? does it still occur?

    did you run memory86? how long? you did bump the voltage to 2.0?


    ud
    Last edited by uddarts; 02-01-2012 at 08:34 PM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    I did reset to 800mhz. I think a new mboard may help, and resolve issue.

    I need to grab the pc and take a look at the motherboard number, incase the bios was wrong.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    Quote Originally Posted by uddarts View Post
    so does this pool error happen with every boot?

    did you try backing it down to 800? does it still occur?

    did you run memory86? how long? you did bump the voltage to 2.0?


    ud
    IT DID REBOOT LOTS
    AND I DID BACK IT DOWN, AND IT'S STABLE AGAIN
    AND I DID DROP THE VOLTAGE BACK DOWN TO DEFAULT> NOT SURE IF THATS 2.0v

    Memory86 I need to put on a boot device, unless u have a windows version with a GUI.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,389

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    Your ram says in the data sheet
    Each module pair has been tested to
    run at DDR2- 1066MHz at a latency timing of 7-7-7-20 at +1.85V to +2.0V
    Have you manually set all those parameters ?
    #1 Asus P5E-VM HDMI (htpc backup)
    2x 2gb Corsair Q6600 7900gt
    Wd 250gb sata, NEC dvd burner
    Antec Neo 480,Avermedia a180 HDTV,Cooler Master Mystique case
    LG L246WP-BN 24" widescreen monitor,Vista Home Premium
    #2 HTPC Athlon64 AM2 5000+ BE x2, CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ABIT AN-M2, TV Wonder 650 PRO, HauppaugeWinTV-HVR-1600
    ASUS EN8600GT SILENT, LG BluRay/HD dvd combo
    250gb Wd sata II,Xgene HTPC case +Scythe and SilentX fans
    Panasonic AX100 projector + 106" Graywolf screen, Vista Home
    Premium
    #3 Asus Eee 4g

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    haven't tried all them 7's settings, maybe try the weekend. Need to get a spare usb stick for the mem check.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    just realised

    when i first posted this problem i gave the wrong mboard version

    it's rev 2.x

    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/pro...px?pid=2926#ov

    which states and i quote "The GA-MA78GM-S2H is GIGABYTE’s next generation, high performance platform based on the new AMD 780G Chipset and support for the new AMD Phenom™ quad-core processors, with the latest AM2+ platform support, integrated DDR2 1066 memory controller, HyperTransport™ 3.0 technology links and 128-bit Floating Point Units. In addition, GA-MA78GM-S2H features with two innovative S features- Safe, Smart technologies, further providing reliable and user friendly computing and reaching the maximum system performance easily via personalized software settings. GIGABYTE S series motherboards, the champion’s choice for AMD AM2+ platform!"

  14. #14
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,389

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    Your memory is programmed to tell your motherboard that it is ddr800.
    That's what it says in the specs.

    The SPD is programmed
    to JEDEC standard latency 800Mhz timing of 6-6-6-18 at +1.8V.
    So that is how your bios will detect it and run it in auto mode

    It has however been tested to run at ddr DDR2-1066

    Each module pair has been tested to
    run at DDR2- 1066MHz at a latency timing of 7-7-7-20 at +1.85V to +2.0V.
    To get it to run at this speed you will have try and put these settings in manually.
    #1 Asus P5E-VM HDMI (htpc backup)
    2x 2gb Corsair Q6600 7900gt
    Wd 250gb sata, NEC dvd burner
    Antec Neo 480,Avermedia a180 HDTV,Cooler Master Mystique case
    LG L246WP-BN 24" widescreen monitor,Vista Home Premium
    #2 HTPC Athlon64 AM2 5000+ BE x2, CORSAIR TWIN2X2048-6400
    ABIT AN-M2, TV Wonder 650 PRO, HauppaugeWinTV-HVR-1600
    ASUS EN8600GT SILENT, LG BluRay/HD dvd combo
    250gb Wd sata II,Xgene HTPC case +Scythe and SilentX fans
    Panasonic AX100 projector + 106" Graywolf screen, Vista Home
    Premium
    #3 Asus Eee 4g

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    10

    Re: Khx8500ad2k2/4gb

    ok done all that , think i had my settings correct, worked for a bit then i got a BSOD, since resetting to run at normal 800mhz for the mboard, its been pretty unstable, i think the memory is dodgy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •