Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27

    HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    I have the HIS Radeon HD 6770 and 3 monitors....2 hooked through the DVI outs, and the 3rd hooked to the HDMI out running to a converter cable for the DVI in on my 3rd display.

    I can get the software to extend and work with two screens at once, but can't seem to get it to do the third.

    Is this possible?
    Tips or tricks to get it running?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sacramento, Ca.
    Age
    69
    Posts
    598

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    Does the Video card have a Display Port out on it ?
    If it doesn't you're gonna be outta luck for three monitors, cause you gotta have the main monitor hooked up with a Display Port to get all three to work right.
    Electronic Smoke Signals From my "Techno Teepee"
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ 990FX, 1703 bios
    AMD FX 8350 Vishera @ 5142Mhz [21x244] 1.536v
    Water Cooled - Koolance EX2-1055, CPU 370 WB, Idle=22c Load=53c
    32Gb G.Skill Sniper ddr3 1600 8G X 4 , 9-9-9-24 @ 1.55v
    ASUS HD7970-DC2T-3GD5, Cat 13.6 beta 2, Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600
    SanDisk Extreme 120GB SSD SATA 6Gb, 250Gb SATA 6Gb, 1Tb SATA 6Gb x2
    Win 7 Ultimate 64bit, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair HX1000w PSU

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    31
    Posts
    387

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    One monitor MUST be plugged in by Display Port. As long as it has one, even if your monitors don't support it, there is a $30 adapter that converts the display port to HDMI (or DVI, can't remember), allowing all 3 monitors to work.
    http://www.jaredhudson.com

    Big Kahuna Burger: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz * ASUS P6X58D-E WS * Noctua NH-D14 SSO Cooler * 24GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600 * Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 OC * 240GB Intel 520 Series SSD * HDD (500GB, 1TB, 2TB, 2TB) * MOTU 828mkII * Sony Optiarc DVD-RW * SeaSonic X650 Gold PSU * Fractal Design R3 (Arctic) * Dual 24" Dell U2410 Ultrasharps * Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    yes the card also has a display port on it.

    I went through the manual on the graphics card last night and found it suggests the following setup:
    2 monitors run with DVI-I dual cables
    1 monitor run with DVI/Display port cable

    So I ordered the DVI-I dual links but I don't think I need those in the end and may be able to get by with two DVI-D Dual Link cables

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    Yea stupid me...my monitors don't support DVI-I dual link, they just support DVI-D single or Dual link.

    One monitor is now hooked up via display port to DVI-D dual, another via DIV-D dual, and the last I've got on DVI-D single but have to switch that to dual but either way, the "Radeon Catalyst Control Center" still won't let me extend to any more than two screens at one time.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    31
    Posts
    387

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    Quote Originally Posted by SonicOrbStudios View Post
    Yea stupid me...my monitors don't support DVI-I dual link, they just support DVI-D single or Dual link.

    One monitor is now hooked up via display port to DVI-D dual, another via DIV-D dual, and the last I've got on DVI-D single but have to switch that to dual but either way, the "Radeon Catalyst Control Center" still won't let me extend to any more than two screens at one time.
    Not sure which one you'd want, but I believe this is what I was referring to.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814998050

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814998051
    http://www.jaredhudson.com

    Big Kahuna Burger: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz * ASUS P6X58D-E WS * Noctua NH-D14 SSO Cooler * 24GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600 * Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 OC * 240GB Intel 520 Series SSD * HDD (500GB, 1TB, 2TB, 2TB) * MOTU 828mkII * Sony Optiarc DVD-RW * SeaSonic X650 Gold PSU * Fractal Design R3 (Arctic) * Dual 24" Dell U2410 Ultrasharps * Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    27

    Re: HIS Radeon HD 6770 - Can I extend 3 screens?

    Thanks fxscreamer, yea turns out I do need the active display port to DVI-D single link in order for this to work.....so I guess I'll be getting some more cables in the mail shortly.

    Thanks for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •