Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: New monitor

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    New monitor

    I've been wanting a new monitor. Found this on sale at newegg:

    $160 ($30 off thru 3/21)
    ASUS VS Series VS247H-P Black 23.6" 2ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 50000000:1 (ASCR)

    It has everything I want and doesn't suffer from the ghosting problem some ASUS LED models do (regardless of response time).

    Does anyone have this monitor?

    My only concern is the increase of resolution from 1680x1050 to 1920x1080. That's about an 18% increase in pixels count. I currently get frame rates in the 50's in BF3 with a GTX460 overclocked from 715/1800 to 825/2000. BF3 looks and plays fine for me right now.

    How much of a frame rate drop do you think I'll see? I suppose I could tweak my video settings if the fps drop is a problem. I could also probably get a higher overclock from the video card as I didn't try too hard to get where I'm at now.

    Current BF3 settings:
    - Res: 1680 x 1050
    - All HIGH video settings
    - AA Deferred = OFF
    - AA Post = HIGH
    - AF = 16x
    - Ambient Occlusion = HBAO
    - Motion Blur = Enabled
    - Enlighten = Enabled
    - Transparent Shadows = Enabled
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    10,715

    Re: New monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny View Post
    I've been wanting a new monitor. Found this on sale at newegg:

    $160 ($30 off thru 3/21)
    ASUS VS Series VS247H-P Black 23.6" 2ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 50000000:1 (ASCR)

    It has everything I want and doesn't suffer from the ghosting problem some ASUS LED models do (regardless of response time).

    Does anyone have this monitor?

    My only concern is the increase of resolution from 1680x1050 to 1920x1080. That's about an 18% increase in pixels count. I currently get frame rates in the 50's in BF3 with a GTX460 overclocked from 715/1800 to 825/2000. BF3 looks and plays fine for me right now.

    How much of a frame rate drop do you think I'll see? I suppose I could tweak my video settings if the fps drop is a problem. I could also probably get a higher overclock from the video card as I didn't try too hard to get where I'm at now.

    Current BF3 settings:
    - Res: 1680 x 1050
    - All HIGH video settings
    - AA Deferred = OFF
    - AA Post = HIGH
    - AF = 16x
    - Ambient Occlusion = HBAO
    - Motion Blur = Enabled
    - Enlighten = Enabled
    - Transparent Shadows = Enabled
    moving to 1080P I would expect your GPU to be fine if you disable HBAO, AA Post and/or drop AF to 8x. Might need to mess around but an OC'd 460 is plenty to play BF3


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,735

    Re: New monitor

    I'll be interested to hear what your thoughts are Lenny when you get your new monitor. I also have a 1680x1050 monitor and have been trying to talk myself into a 1920x1080 too, but I just don't know if it will be worth it for the extra money and performance hit.

    As for your 460 being able to run BF3 decently? If worse came to worse you could buy another 460 and go the SLI route like I did. My setup runs BF3 awesomely, of course this is at the lower res.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by kbohip View Post
    I'll be interested to hear what your thoughts are Lenny when you get your new monitor. I also have a 1680x1050 monitor and have been trying to talk myself into a 1920x1080 too, but I just don't know if it will be worth it for the extra money and performance hit.

    As for your 460 being able to run BF3 decently? If worse came to worse you could buy another 460 and go the SLI route like I did. My setup runs BF3 awesomely, of course this is at the lower res.
    Turns out my worry about the performance hit was unjustified. My frame rates did drop with the single GTX460 but I just tweaked the BF3 video settings and my fps are actually slightly higher than before.

    Before I was running 'auto' video settings which was mostly HIGH with AA Deferred=OFF, AA Post=HIGH, AF=16x, Ambient Occlusion=HBAO, Motion Blur=ON

    Now I run mostly ULTRA (except shadows=MED), AA Post=MED, AF=4X, Ambient Occlusion=OFF, Motion Blur=OFF (don't like it anyway). Individually the changes yield a small increase in frame rate but combined the increase is more significant.

    My average fps is in the 50-60's outdoors and 75+ indoors (64 player Metro with heavy action). BF3 still looks great, better in fact in some ways. So I have no regrets about the upgrade to 1080P. It's a very nice monitor. I like the extra real estate. Gaming is very nice on it. At least for BF3 I see no need to go SLI or get a faster video card.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,735

    Re: New monitor

    That's good to hear Lenny. It's always nice not to have to spend more money. How does the game look at the higher resolution btw? Do you think it's worth my money to upgrade to a 1080p monitor instead of my current 1680x1050?

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by kbohip View Post
    That's good to hear Lenny. It's always nice not to have to spend more money. How does the game look at the higher resolution btw? Do you think it's worth my money to upgrade to a 1080p monitor instead of my current 1680x1050?
    I haven't really noticed a big difference from just the resolution bump, it's more the bigger screen that's nice. I went from a 22 to 23.6". Also something about the brightness and colors on this new monitor that looks nicer than the old one. Probably the LED back lighting I'd guess.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    I'm happy with the ASUS 1680x1050 monitor I have now. My main motivation is to pass my current monitor to my son and then his 1280x1024 19" LCD to my daughter who is living with a very old 1024x768 15" LCD. Of course having a new monitor for myself won't be bad

    My Antec NEO HE 550w PSU (with 3 x 18A rails) has been rock solid for me but I'm not sure if it could handle 2 x GTX460.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,735

    Re: New monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny View Post
    I'm happy with the ASUS 1680x1050 monitor I have now. My main motivation is to pass my current monitor to my son and then his 1280x1024 19" LCD to my daughter who is living with a very old 1024x768 15" LCD. Of course having a new monitor for myself won't be bad

    My Antec NEO HE 550w PSU (with 3 x 18A rails) has been rock solid for me but I'm not sure if it could handle 2 x GTX460.
    Hehe, I just need to find someone to pass my old monitor to as well, then I can upgrade. It's funny you mention the NEO 550. It's the psu I had before putting together my new system back in October. I almost chanced it and was going to use the NEO to see if it could handle the load. Then I thought better of it and went with the 850w OCZ. I still wonder though if it could've handled the SLI setup. I don't remember ever getting above 500 watts load in games, and for the most part it's at 380-400. The bad thing about the 550 NEO was the lack of pci plugs for the 460's though.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    Using this PSU Calculator and assuming 20% capacity aging the min PSU for my current rig is 450w and recommended is 500w. Add a 2nd GTX460 and it increases to 575w / 625w respectively. If I assume NO capacitor aging, which given this PSU is 5 years old is probably a bad assumption, it's 475w / 525w.

    So adding a 2nd GTX460 using the existing 550w PSU would be "risky" to say the least.

    I have to check if I have a 2nd set of PCI-E power cables for the PSU.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  10. #10
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,735

    Re: New monitor

    Yep, that's the same calculator I used and that's when I decided (after taking into account capacitor aging) that I needed a bigger psu. I figured I was due for an upgrade anyway and after I came across a great price on a really nice 850 watter I went for it.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,010

    Re: New monitor

    Best PSU calculator on the web in my opinion. I like how it even handles the voltage on the rails and stuff with the pro edition. But, I think we've talked about that on this forum before.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia
    Age
    41
    Posts
    12,735

    Re: New monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by Keven View Post
    Best PSU calculator on the web in my opinion. I like how it even handles the voltage on the rails and stuff with the pro edition. But, I think we've talked about that on this forum before.
    Yep, it's a great one, and I have you to thank for turning me onto it! At least I think it was you, it's been over 6 months and I AM pushing 40 now so the memory is not as good as it was before.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    I only have the 2 PCI-E power adapters that I'm already using for the Antec HE550 but I found what appears to be three of these Molex-to-PCI-E adapters so I could connect a 2nd GTX460 to power but I doubt the PSU would handle it.

    Also my motherboard supports Crossfire but not SLI so I'd have to gamble on one of the SLI hacks like HyperSLI if I wanted to attempt SLI.

    I'm not really sure why I'm thinking about SLI because I probably won't do it but it was interesting to research it anyway.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    47
    Posts
    21,236

    Re: New monitor

    So any comments on the monitor? I guess no one has that particular one. The promo code expires tomorrow so I need to decide soon.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.





    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  15. #15
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    10,715

    Re: New monitor

    really can't comment aside from the fact that I liked my 2x 1080P asus monitors. they're respectable enough. You probably won't be disappointed


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •