Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    27
    Posts
    104

    Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/9...2815524082.jpg
    http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/3...8155229712.jpg

    Pics r worth 1000 words lol.

    Hey all. My motherboard has an eight pin connector to supply power to the cpu chip. My power supply has a few different connectors; two four pins connectors, and one six pin connector. I am not familiar with these since I havnt dilly dallied in puting one together since 2005. Back then in old times the four pin were for the video card. I am not sure which of these I connect to supply my processor with power since my power supply is lacking the eight pin.

    Can I just use the 4 pin or the 6 pin in the 8 pin connector?

    Its an amd cpu. 500watt cooler master power supply.
    Thx in advance.
    Last edited by Shin Seiki; 03-28-2012 at 08:40 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,693

    Re: mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    what make and model motherboard?



    ud

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    27
    Posts
    104

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Its the asrock a55m-hvs fm1
    here's the link

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...a55m-hvs%20fm1

    The power supply is the cooler master 500w extreme power plus
    here the link to that as well

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...0master%20500w
    Last edited by Shin Seiki; 03-28-2012 at 08:52 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,693

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    i got this from the download manual, page 27.

    Though this motherboard provides 8-pin ATX 12V power connector, it can still work
    if you adopt a traditional 4-pin ATX 12V power supply. To use the
    4-pin ATX power supply, please plug your power supply along with
    Pin 1 and Pin 5.
    there is a diagram.


    ud

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    AZ
    Age
    27
    Posts
    104

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Oh man you are a god! I got the motherboard on an open box sale so I didn't have the booklet. Thanks soo much.I didn't know they had the manuals online.

    Thx for the fast reply! best forums ever!

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,693

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    glad to help.

    and here's the link.

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/manual.asp?Model=A55M-HVS


    ud

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia, USSA
    Age
    42
    Posts
    12,831

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    The mobo section has turned into an all Asrock all the time section lately. I didn't think it was that popular of a company, but there sure has been a lot of discussion about them.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    24,235

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Quote Originally Posted by kbohip View Post
    The mobo section has turned into an all Asrock all the time section lately. I didn't think it was that popular of a company, but there sure has been a lot of discussion about them.
    I hear ya. Not to denigrate Asrock.. they have been hit-r-miss for me personally. But many new users buy them because they are usually much cheaper than other brands and have a decent feature set.
    "The most dangerous myth is the demagoguery that business can be made to pay a larger share, thus relieving the individual. Politicians preaching this are either deliberately dishonest, or economically illiterate, and either one should scare us...
    Only people pay taxes, and people pay as consumers every tax that is assessed against a business."


    -The Gipper


  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    SO CAL USA
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,598

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Out of the 4 Asrock Ive used the last 2 were the best,but the old dual sata is still running strong for my sons friend with the old opty 148. I only bought the dual sata because I was tired of waiting on the new DFI.Now that DFI is out of the picture Im only using Asrock
    Asrock 990FX FX8120 8G Gskill 2133 2x WD2T 6.0 pc p+c 950w
    Asrock 890FX 1090t 2x4 Gskill 1866 RipJaw WD 1T 6.0 mushkin 850w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 8 Gskill RipJaw 1866 WD1T 6.0 ocz 750 w
    DFI 790FXB M3H5 PII 965 2x4 Gskill Rip Jaw 1600 Ocz evo720
    DFI 790FXB M2RSH PII 955 2x1Gskill 1600 Saph 4670 Ocz Evo 720W
    DFI LP Jr 790GX PII 720 2X1Gskill 1600 Sapph 3650 Seas 600w
    DFI 790FXM2RS PII 720 2x1gig Gskill 1600 Sapphire HD3400
    DFI Lp ultra D SLI Opti 148@300x10 @33c 1 gig Crucial ballistix 4000

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cyberspace
    Posts
    289

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Quote Originally Posted by THOMAS LYNN View Post
    Out of the 4 Asrock Ive used the last 2 were the best,but the old dual sata is still running strong for my sons friend with the old opty 148. I only bought the dual sata because I was tired of waiting on the new DFI.Now that DFI is out of the picture Im only using Asrock
    I also miss DFI.....and Epox.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Cornelius, OR
    Age
    68
    Posts
    18,123

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    My new Coolermaster PSU had so many connectors and the Gigabyte board seemed to want them all....luckily I had a book. I look back to my first Gigabyte board that had a combination of Via and AMD chips and a 2100 Palomino.. Driver issues galore, The board performed well when the drivers were balanced, but that was tricky.
    I tried a lot of makers after that and Abit was my favorite, but I loved ASRock 939 'use anything you got' dual sata boards. and their other ULI boards were good too. It was the ULI chipset that allowed dual Sata.

    I still have a intense dislike of Nvidia for killing ULI
    There are advantages to being retarded...and I'm taking advantage of all of them.

  12. #12
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Rhode Island, USA
    Age
    67
    Posts
    4,937

    Re: Asrock mobo has 8 pin connector, psu only 6 and 4 pin? help needed! :(

    Just replaced the ASRock 939NF4G-SATA2 in my van computer with an ASRock N68C-S UCC.
    The 939 served remarkably well for over 4 years in an extremely harsh environment and the only issue I had was with the USB ports. Had to install a SATA PCI card about a year and a half ago.

    The new build includes WIn 7 N Ult 64, MS Streets & Trips 2011, MS Office Suite, Faststone Image Viewer, Autodesk DWG Viewer and sports an X2 Calisto 555BE and 4GB (2x2GB) G.Skill DDR3
    Still using the same 160GB Seagate hd.
    I finally got the RadioLabs WiFi antenna working correctly last year after I cut off most of the 15 ' USB cable, resoldered the connector and added a USB repeater cable - it makes sure that 5VDC is available to the antenna.

    Hoping for 4 more years.

    Bill
    My HTPC

    ASRock 970 Extreme3
    AMD FX-4100 w/Coolermaster GeminII S cooler
    M Station HT-1100 HTPC Media Center case
    Antec 480 NeoPower PSU
    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
    Gigabyte GV-R467ZL 4670/1GB video card
    Hitachi HDS721050CLA362 500GB SATA hd
    Windows7 Ultimate x64 & Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (partitioned)
    Pioneer DVR-215D SATA DVD burner
    Samsung 40" 1080p 120Hz LCD HDTV LN40C630


    You can teach an old dog; it just takes longer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •