Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Max Payne 3

  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Max Payne 3

    Payne to the max!

    Anybody excited for Max Payne 3?

    The first two were great, great PC games. Basically invented the modern third-person shooter. Great games, great nitty story, etc.

    Rockstar is doing the third one, and it's definately some influence from GTA and other Rockstar games, but still looks pretty badass.

    It was supposed to come out today (console version came out two weeks ago), but at the last minute, Rockstar delayed it to June 1 (Friday). I guess this can't be a bad thing, I hope they are touching it up.

    Here's a video QL from GB of the Xbox 360 version.



    To catch up on the story, I'm replaying through MP1 and MP2 on Steam, but the first one doesn't run so well on Win7. Have to do some tweaks with mouse and sound settings to get it to run well.

  2. #2

    Re: Max Payne 3

    I'm thinking about picking it up.
    Also thinking about replaying 1st two.
    Have them both.
    What tweaks have you done to get them to play on Win7?
    It's All About Having Fun ..... Isn't It?

    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
    XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5 | Acer G246HL 24" WideScreen
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB (Storage) | Samsung SH-S224 DVD Burner
    HT|Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll ~ Stanton 681EEE MKlll
    Esoteric Sounds Rek-O-Kut Professional Phono Preamp MKII
    Klipsch Pro Media v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision ~ Sennheiser PC165 (Mic/Headset)
    Lian Li Lancool PC-K7B w/ Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
    Win7 x64

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by IAmGhostDog View Post
    I'm thinking about picking it up.
    Also thinking about replaying 1st two.
    Have them both.
    What tweaks have you done to get them to play on Win7?
    1 - If you have a fancy gaming mouse, you will need to disable mouse acceleration. It should be in the mouse control panel under "enhanced pointer precision".

    2 - Most of the game's music and cutscene sound files will not play in Vista/Win7. This guy wrote a custom batch file that updates the game:

    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=848215

    That's for the Steam version. I don't know if you have the CD version or if that batch file works with the non-Steam version.

    With those two tweaks the game should work fine

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    S.W. VA.
    Posts
    839

    Re: Max Payne 3

    I preordered it a few months ago from the egg. I wanted the damn statue lol. And now I am getting it.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    40
    Posts
    30,912

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Don't want to download on PC coz take too long for me.

  6. #6

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Keven View Post
    That's for the Steam version. I don't know if you have the CD version or if that batch file works with the non-Steam version.
    Have them both on CD/
    Bought/played them as they came out back in the day.
    Truly a memorable series.
    It's All About Having Fun ..... Isn't It?

    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
    XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5 | Acer G246HL 24" WideScreen
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB (Storage) | Samsung SH-S224 DVD Burner
    HT|Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll ~ Stanton 681EEE MKlll
    Esoteric Sounds Rek-O-Kut Professional Phono Preamp MKII
    Klipsch Pro Media v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision ~ Sennheiser PC165 (Mic/Headset)
    Lian Li Lancool PC-K7B w/ Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
    Win7 x64

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by 3dfxrain View Post
    Don't want to download on PC coz take too long for me.
    Yeah, like 27GB download on the Steam version.

    Sounds to me like they didn't bother compressing it at all.

    Remember that Star Wars: Force Unleashed was like 30GB because the developers just dumped all the assets onto Steam and didn't compress anything. That game was so bad at this that people found that shared textures across multiple levels were just included twice.

    I guess I'd rather have a fat ass game than no PC port. This sounds to me like the publisher set an extremely low budget for the PC version of the game and the developers didn't have time/money to properly compress the game.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Re: Max Payne 3

    The fact that we're a few hours from release and Steam isn't offering pre-load leads me to believe that Rockstar may be really working on this game down to the wire (for the PC port).

    Either that or they don't want to let people pre-load.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Age
    53
    Posts
    9,778

    Re: Max Payne 3

    30 Gb
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.


  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by zetachi View Post
    30 Gb
    Took me five hours to download Max Payne 3 on my 20mbps pipe.

    Max Payne 3 folder inside Steam directory is 28.5 GB big.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    Re: Max Payne 3

    That's just obnoxious, it cant possibly be necessary


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  12. #12

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Keven View Post
    Took me five hours to download Max Payne 3 on my 20mbps pipe.
    Two words:
    Game Stop.
    It's All About Having Fun ..... Isn't It?

    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
    XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5 | Acer G246HL 24" WideScreen
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB (Storage) | Samsung SH-S224 DVD Burner
    HT|Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll ~ Stanton 681EEE MKlll
    Esoteric Sounds Rek-O-Kut Professional Phono Preamp MKII
    Klipsch Pro Media v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision ~ Sennheiser PC165 (Mic/Headset)
    Lian Li Lancool PC-K7B w/ Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
    Win7 x64

  13. #13
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    wichita falls tx
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,146

    Re: Max Payne 3

    two words:
    hell no.






    lol sorry i had to do it. i hate gamestop and will never buy another game from them.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,027

    Re: Max Payne 3

    Quote Originally Posted by IAmGhostDog View Post
    Two words:
    Game Stop.
    Still, the install is 28.5 gigs.

    Hope you didn't want to install it to your SSD or anything.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia, USSA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    13,825

    Re: Max Payne 3

    30gb?! Let's see, on my 11mbps at best connection that would take what..9-10 hours.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •