Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: avast alert

  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,563

    avast alert

    avast is tripping a malware alert here(pcper forums).


    Infection Details
    URL: http://www.mycloud-java.com/gate.php?v
    Process: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox...
    Infection: URL:Mal

    ud

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rock Falls, IL
    Age
    47
    Posts
    899

    Re: avast alert

    No alerts from Norton or Malwarebytes Pro for me. What is the specific alert?
    AMD 1090T w/Corsair H70 - Asus Crosshair IV Formula 890FX w/4x4gb GSkill Ripjaws 1600 CL7 - WD Black WD1002FAEX - EVGA GTX 660 Ti FTW+ 3GB - Win 7 Premium 64bit - Lite-On iHES108 - HAF 922 w/Silverstone Strider 1000w - HP XP599AA

    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=55337

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,563

    Re: avast alert

    "network shield has blocked a harmful site."

    does it with ie-8 also.

    i think we had this happen awhile back.



    ud

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    wichita falls tx
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,003

    Re: avast alert

    im getting it too everytime a page here on pcper loads. it just started today.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Florida , USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    521

    Re: avast alert

    Same here though mine doesn't error out or anything it just won't let me on to the forums. Had to disable the realtime shield to be able to get on the forums.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    Finally started getting Avast Alerts today on forums.pcper.com

    Url:http://forums.pcper.com

    Severity - High

    Status:
    Threat: HTML:Script-inf

    Didn't have any alerts yesterday - so guess it is just certain ads
    Last edited by MrBlack; 06-21-2012 at 04:38 PM.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    Still getting alert - updated to latest Avast defs
    also tried latest beta pro-version

    Like uddarts said - it seems to be the mycloud-java.com link
    which sets off the alert

  8. #8
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,563

    Re: avast alert

    i'm now getting resets and unable to display page. when i get a page, log in and try to post, i don't get the message box.



    ud

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    So put in a question on the Avast Forum about it:
    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100017.0

    the answer was:
    avast Networkshield flags as URL:Mal (a general detection for access to malicious sites that is being blocked)
    Blocked because this is a declared scammer-account and avast still block site because of malware previously resided here:
    htxp://www.mycloud-java.com/gate.php?v=361 (found detections for that malware elsewhere and recently reported here)
    This malware for this domain has been dead since 2012-06-22 04:31:04, that is why we now will get a "HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden" (provided by hoster),
    avast still blocks via Networkshield, that is why avast is still blocking this site,

    polonus

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    ps..I'm still not sure if safe or not
    but feel a lot better browsing pcper with linux

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    uh oh - followup

    And there is more...
    This was the related spammer for that IP
    maltibbies AT hotmail dot com (search) La Place, La 184.82.172.2 SM*LL SIZE M A L T E S E P * P P I E S
    These scams are pre-texts to infect with malware (e.g. Zeus)
    We also had this launched from: htxp://www.jscript-cloud.com/gate.php?v=384 as for htxp://www.jscript-cloud.com/gate.php?v=361
    So that malcode was continuously being launched from 184.82.172.2
    That was the purpose of that malcode scam campaign, now being halted in its tracks,

    polonus
    Last edited by MrBlack; 06-22-2012 at 06:02 PM.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    541

    Re: avast alert

    Well in the end...

    appears to be a result of user tracking by quantserve
    no big deal (to me anyway)


    http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100017.0

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    8,563

    Re: avast alert

    this is what i'm seeing today.

    Infection Details
    URL: http://forums.pcper.com/
    Process: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox...
    Infection: HTML:Script-inf

    ud

  14. #14
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Age
    39
    Posts
    36,039

    Re: avast alert

    thanks for the info everyone. we are looking into it.
    hmm...

  15. #15
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    31
    Posts
    5,104

    Re: avast alert

    Interesting, thanks for helping to do some research on this for us.

    Quantcast is near industry standard application used for tracking site statistics, kind of like Google Analytics, that allows to compile data to give to potential advertisers. Basically, it validates our traffic claims, etc.

    I am going to have Wise update the code on the site to see if that helps fix this.
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •