Mount a Windows RAID 1 disk in Ubuntu 12.04?

I have been running Windows XP64 on a RAID 1 drive for several years (installed when Vista was new). At some point in the past two years, I started getting blue screens occasionally, which I chalked up to driver issues, that would not be resolved given my OS. Lately, the blue screens have become more frequent.

Last weekend, I got a 1.5 TB USB drive to back everything up. When I started the large copy, didn't make it very far before BSOD. Tried again and again, didn't work. Now, the drive won't boot, and Windows Setup CD is no help to repair the installation (Automated REcovery disk is missing, and no help without floppy drive). After more consideration (and probably should have thought of it sooner), the problem was one bad memory stick. Swapped a few around, and computer has been up and running for many hours with Ubuntu 12.04 on the USB drive.

So, now I have a functioning computer, and a RAID 1 disk I can't mount. When I have the RAID feature turned on in the BIOS (Asus M3-A32MVP, BIOS 2202), the disk doesn;t show up under the SATA II controller. However, when I set the BIOS to IDE, both hard drives show up under the controller. But I cannot figure out how to mount one to be able to copy the files over. If I can accomplish that, I can reinstall Windows and should be able to handle it from there.

Thanks, LiveDie

Re: Mount a Windows RAID 1 disk in Ubuntu 12.04?

Two steps.

(1) Hardware detection - The Linux has to detect the your hard disk successfully at the hardware level (same as seeing it in Device Manager in a MS Windows). You do this by clicking a terminal in Ubuntu and issue this command.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    the command will list every hard disk and every partition the kernel has found from your system even if they are not mountable. If the disk is not seen in the list then hardware wise Linux did not find it.