Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Intel or AMD

Question Intel or AMD

Hi guys i was just wondering how many of you prefer Intel or AMD and why??
    Im also in the process of my first build ever and am stuck in choosing the CPU. Lets face it the build is obviously going to be for gaming but i am also an undergrad student going for a BA in computer science. Which should i get?? Or are there new CPUs coming in the near future?

Thanksss

(If this post does not belongg here i apologize , im newww here)

Re: Intel or AMD

The only thing that AMD really competes on is price. Their latest FX processors are more competitive with what Intel has, and the FX-8350 does pretty well against the i5 3570K and is about $20 cheaper. If you have software that is heavily multi-threaded, then the FX series really starts to shine at their price points. If you rely on gaming and a lot of single threaded workloads, then Intel might be the better answer. If you are willing to spend $300+ on a processor, then the i7 3770K really has no equal. It is just plain fast in everything it does.
    PCPer writer and podcaster
    Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/JoshDWalrath

Ohh thanks very informative!
    So is it safe to say there isn't that much of a difference between the i7 2700k & 3770k?
    I am probably going to use the PC for gaming and hopefully with dual sli, not sure which gpu yett

Not a huge difference between the 2700 and 3770K. In fact, the 2700 might overclock better. The only thing you would be missing is PCI-E 3.0 support with the 3770. If you are doing high end SLI, it might make a small difference in performance overall.
    PCPer writer and podcaster
    Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/JoshDWalrath