Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    65
    Posts
    146

    ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    As the title says I went to go into the BIOS today and it's asking for a password but I never set one. How do I get in?

    Sam
    Main- ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming K6/i7-8700k/32 Gb DDR4 /Zotac GTX1080Ti 11Gb/Samsung 970 EVO 1Tb nVme SSD/ samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD/ Hitachi 3Tb HDD/Asus BW-12B1ST BD burner/EVGA 750w PSU/Vizio D40u-D1 40" 4K TV/Win 10 Pro x64

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    Is it a UEFI bios?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    65
    Posts
    146

    Re: ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    yeah it is.

    I ended up flashing from 1.60 to 1.70 through Windows and that got rid of it asking for a password. Still don't know why it just started asking for one cause I never set those.

    Sam
    Main- ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming K6/i7-8700k/32 Gb DDR4 /Zotac GTX1080Ti 11Gb/Samsung 970 EVO 1Tb nVme SSD/ samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD/ Hitachi 3Tb HDD/Asus BW-12B1ST BD burner/EVGA 750w PSU/Vizio D40u-D1 40" 4K TV/Win 10 Pro x64

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    Did u have a recent malware infection on system before it happened? UEFI bios are like a mini OS inside your system, I think it is UNIX based hence it asks for a supervisor (root) or user password, it could be infected. And flashing might have not solved it, they are very smart viruses and can self replicate to RAM temporarily while you flash....

    These are hardware based viruses and they are the worst, in most cases you have to either A) change entire bios chip or B) Do a standalone flash with the part separated from rest of components, which is very hard to accomplish if you do not have the tools.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Age
    65
    Posts
    146

    Re: ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    Nope, no virus or malware, I run scans a few times a week.

    Seems to be OK since I flashed, have no problems entering BIOS now.

    Sam
    Main- ASRock Z370 Fatal1ty Gaming K6/i7-8700k/32 Gb DDR4 /Zotac GTX1080Ti 11Gb/Samsung 970 EVO 1Tb nVme SSD/ samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD/ Hitachi 3Tb HDD/Asus BW-12B1ST BD burner/EVGA 750w PSU/Vizio D40u-D1 40" 4K TV/Win 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    39
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: ASRock Z77 pro 4 now asking for password to enter BIOS but I never set one?

    These viruses are not detected by anti virus scanners, they are worst then a rootkit....

    If it happens again then you know you are infected.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •