Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    29
    Posts
    906

    BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    I have a server with 2 3ghz xeon's that are x86 cpu's and I have 4GB installed.

    The bios reports all 4096MB.

    Windows Server 2008 had PAE disabled from which I saw 3326MB.

    Enabled PAE via Bcdedit /set PAE forceenable.

    Physical Address Extension (PAE)
    Supported by Operating System Yes
    Supported by CPU Yes
    Active Yes

    Physical Memory
    Total 3326 MB
    Used 930 MB
    Free 2397 MB
    Utilization 28 %


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    50

    Re: BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    Some people claim they got PAE to work and show all 4gb ram, but Me personally I have had 0 luck getting to work and have had same thing as that. Well in my case most ram mine ever had was 3gb and eventually when put in a tv tuner went down to 2.5gb.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    29
    Posts
    906

    Re: BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    Yeah?

    They said in the manual Devices occupy "Memory Address Space" in the 4GB range which is weird?

    Mainly it says it's the vga card.

    When I have 2048MB or 3072MB all 3072 is available. Once you hop to 4096MB the gpu hogs 768MB of that 4096MB, leaving me with 3328MB which is BS...

    Right now I have a GeForce 7300GT 512MB that's not taking a dime from my current 2048MB.

    I do have AGP Aperture at 256MB (MAX) because fps is terrible at 128MB, so I have to use 256MB which yields 80-90fps compared to 10-15fps at 128MB AGP Aperture.

    Running Two Xeon's at 3Ghz each and hyperthreading. It's pretty sweet since every game only hits the CPU(s) at like 30-50% on all 4 threads.

    ........................................................

    Now I ordered a AMD ATI Radeon HD 4670 1GB GDDR3 so I hope it may stay chill with 4GB.... Super weird.

    I just wish I knew which devices I need to remove to pull of at least 4000MB ram, and that 96MB for Device addressing....

    Which someone had the exact answer as to what devices/ configuration is causing it to get worse or better...

    Or a way to tweak the Windows Kernel to force devices to occupy less address space.......

    THANKS!

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    29
    Posts
    906

    Re: BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    What if I bdcedit pae forceenabled before the setup process for windows? Shift+f10 ... pae forceenabled .. continue with setup.

    Since PAE is by default disabled, maybe If I force enable it before setup, then maybe the setup will detect all 4096MB and use it in Windows. Since by default PAE is disabled....

    Here's some more stuff I dug up on it. Testing different AGP Aperture settings.

    Is there any way to force the Windows Operating System (Server 2008) to use way less or specify how much "SYSTEM SHARED MEMORY"?

    At 32MB Aperture most apps for 3d are unplayable. Everything runs pretty damn smooth at 256MB Aperture... Any thoughts?

    32MB AGP Aperture



    256MB AGP Aperture

    Last edited by chris89; 06-19-2014 at 08:39 PM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    50

    Re: BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    Quote Originally Posted by chris89 View Post
    Yeah?

    They said in the manual Devices occupy "Memory Address Space" in the 4GB range which is weird?
    Every device you have on your system, sata controller, ide, usb, sound, etc. All take up address space, 32bit can only address 4096mb hence why you don't get 4gb its normally somewhere between 2.5gb to 3.5gb at most.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    columbia, mo
    Age
    29
    Posts
    906

    Re: BIOS reports 4096MB, 3326MB in Server 08' x86 - Enabled PAE - Still 3326MB???

    Quote Originally Posted by arbiter1 View Post
    Every device you have on your system, sata controller, ide, usb, sound, etc. All take up address space, 32bit can only address 4096mb hence why you don't get 4gb its normally somewhere between 2.5gb to 3.5gb at most.
    The CPU support 36-bit memory address table so in Linux apparently with pae it'll support all 4gb.

    The Intel Xeon sl79v 3ghz is what it is and I have two of them installed.

    For instance here is a bit of info...

    Last edited by chris89; 06-20-2014 at 10:10 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •