Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AMD A10-7870k

  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Cool AMD A10-7870k

    I got a AMD A10-7870k and Asus CrossBlade Ranger about two weeks now. Still trying to find the right setting, run it most of the time at around 4000MHz. I do turn it up to run benchmarks as high as around 4800MHz, depending on which benchmark.
    The memory controller in mine is kind of weak or it just don't like the memory I have, but I think its on the weak side as the GPU part of it only like about 985 MHz or less.
    With Asus realbench it score good, best so far is (updated)76065. http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=12338 http://hwbot.org/submission/3151620_
    That is just the APU, no video card.

    I read somewhere to run it less then 1.475 volts for 24/7 , so it has me worry, so I run it only under 4100MHz, as that about where its stable with only 1.475 volts. But short term I turn up the volts 1.5 - 1.55 and can get it stable to run benchmarks from 4100MHz - 4780MHz.

    in the bios on the crossblade ranger it set at bus 101, memory 2154MHz, CPURatio 40, NB Frequency 2100MHz, GPU 975, DIGI + Power Control- both CPU AND CPU/NB Load line Medium, Both Power Phase Control Optimized, All 3 current capablity 120%, CPU volt Manual 1.475, VDDNB 1.287, DRam 1.5.

    My Corsair is 4 x 8GB 1866 9-10-9-27-48, but my old motherboard and this one can't run it stable at them setting with all 4 sticks. But that could be just it dont like AMD APU memory controller. It will run hours booted into memtest 5.01 at 1077MHz=2154MHz at 10-11-10-29-48 with no errors I think 9 hours was the max I left it running. It took like 20 hours to find the right timing and setting. Sometimes I run just 2 sticks in some benchmark as it seem to score better, but It could be on the edge of stable and 2 is more stable,not sure yet. It could be more heats the memory controller, still testing.

    Even at only 4040MHz I run it at every day is still fast at everything I do with it. At that speed it seem faster then my old A10-5800k at 4500MHz with a mod bios overclocked 5770 video card. The games I play and the benchmark score faster then the 5770 in most stuff, so I have not even try it in this system.

    Any AMD APU Guru let me know on safe volts please. It is fun overclocking and playing with setting, I just don't want to kill it.
    Last edited by bootmeup; 03-08-2016 at 07:04 PM.


    benchmark setting

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    179

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    Thanks for the info. I've been eyeing the 7870K as an upgrade to an A6-5400K I have in a computer right now. When I do, I'll perform some benchmarking to see how much of a difference the change would make.

    I heard that AMD is releasing a 7890K and an Athlon 880K and I believe each will come with the new Wraith cooler. If that's true, and the prices are reasonable...I'll probably jump on it. I keep waffling on the GPU-enabled APU vs the Athlon (non-GPU version). I like the idea that if I pull out the GPU, I still have decent-enough graphics with the APU. Decisions, decisions.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    ran a few more benchmarks

    Cinebench - R15 score 390 cb and 54 on the opencl part of the test. http://hwbot.org/submission/3148487_...0_7870k_390_cb

    3DMark - Sky Diver score 7207 marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3148401_...rs)_7207_marks

    3DMark - Cloud Gate score 8593 marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3149230_...rs)_8593_marks

    Running at 4650MHz or less on my apu need 1.5125 volt set in the bios and show around 1.496 - 1.5 on CPU-Z. If I push it higher, then it need a big jump in volt to around 1.55 at 4700MHz fairly stable and around 1.59 for 4800MHz not stable at all.
    But with my Corsair H110 cpu cooler at any volts and or overclock the most I seen is 43C under load, I guess it would go little higher in the summer.

    I have in the bios most disable on setting like NX mode, SVM mode, CPB mode, APM master, c6 mode, iommu, EPU Power Saving mode.
    Not sure what they do, I was turning off everything trying to get higher stable overclock.

    I just play stuff like Oblivion and Skyrim and the built-in GPU is fast enough, even with lots of mods and high res textures. Also working with blender 2.49 on 3d mesh or paintnet for the textures is smooth.

    Just if you get a APU and going to buy new memory, get 2400MHz or higher and lowest timing your willing to spend, 9-11-11-31 or faster would be great, but hard to find and or cost alot.

    Most of my time sofar on overclocking is finding setting on the memory I had already, trying to get them to work at more then 1866MHz. It max stable timing at 2400MHz 11-11-11-30, just one bump on the bus now is to much for the memory at them setting. Only two of my sticks will work with them setting and pass memtest, the other two sticks will get errors.


    benchmark setting

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,092

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    Thanks for the results. I still struggle to justify the APU in my mind. It exists in some kind of netherworld for me where the iGPU isn't powerful enough to do what I want, but is overkill for the applications where I wouldn't need a dGPU. I think they're not too far off for a kind of living room gaming PC/HTPC, but for "serious" games the thermal envelope just seems so restrictive.


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    AMD has it running with chains on it to keep the TDP down at 95watts or less, with mine and lot of that stuff disable, I have seen around 223 watts on hwinfo64. If hwinfo64 is correct I am not sure, it was when I was testing pstate setting and set p5 to the same speed as p0 and p1. Then when it go into 3d mode or what ever its called, it down shift the CPU mult to 30 with P5 state I think, as I could stop the down shift with P5 setting. So I guess I could get it to hit around 250 watts or more, but not sure if Asus CrossBlade Ranger can push that much power and be safe. My H110 CPU cooler only peaked like 39C on the temp reading and by touching the rad it was cool feeling. I felt around the motherboard and nothing felt like it was going to burn my finger. I do have about 100 cfm fan blowing at the upper motherboard heatsink area and a 80 cfm fan blowing on the lower motherboard heatsink area.

    Yes AMD has it chain down to keep the 95 watts TDP, so I am glad I have a Corsair H110 CPU cooler. It could have hit higher watts when I don't have the HWiNFO64 sensor window open. That benchmark ran for only about 2 or 3 mins, so the showing temp only hit 39C, so maybe even the Corsair H110 is to small if I was trying to game with them setting.

    So you need a CPU cooler that can handle maybe 225 - 300 watts if your going to push the APU.
    AMD needs to put on copper or silver lids on the CPU, but that could add 3 - 30 dollars to each I guess.

    But all my submitted benchmark score is without playing with the PState, I can get higher scores with playing with the PState, but it sometimes do strange stuff that I am trying to find out whats going on. When it acts up, it will be like 2x or 3x time speed, like the benchmark runs so fast it like a blur, as in the pace of the scene and that type score lower as the frame rate drops a lot at the top right, but looks like the scene is flying with no problem. If it a open cl type bench it will just run the GPU and CPU harder and score about 3% - 4% higher. But still testing, I sure I can get even more.


    Some more benchmarks to compare.

    3DMark - Fire Strike score (updated)1941 marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3151817_...rs)_1941_marks

    3DMark - Ice Storm - 79533 marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3150675_...s)_79533_marks

    Unigine Heaven - Basic Preset - 921.94 DX9 Marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3151094_

    Unigine Heaven - Xtreme Preset - 488.64 DX11 Marks http://hwbot.org/submission/3151110_
    Last edited by bootmeup; 03-08-2016 at 07:09 PM.


    benchmark setting

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    ROG RealBench is showing the iGPU on this is great for stuff like image editing and or video encoding.

    IMAGE EDITING: 142485
    VIDEO ENCODING: 81170
    OPENCL: 24569
    HEAVY MULTI-TASKING: 75693
    SCORE: 76065

    I can get better scores when I run it again, I found if I set the volts with offset, its more stable at higher CPU, GPU and memory setting.

    Still testing to find the right setting, it helped my MaxxMem2 score from 559.5 to 701.2.

    http://hwbot.org/submission/3151430_...am_559.5_marks

    http://hwbot.org/submission/3151836_...am_701.2_marks

    Wish I could get the memory to run at 1T, but I not sure if I want to drop all the timing again and do 20 to 30 hours of testing.


    benchmark setting

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    Heheh, in the top 100 global on HWBOT with the ROGRealBench at 95th, the only AMD up there and I guess the only one with only iGPU.

    http://hwbot.org/benchmark/realbench...0#interval=100


    ROG RealBench

    IMAGE EDITING: 145151
    VIDEO ENCODING: 84009
    OPENCL: 24569
    HEAVY MULTI-TASKING: 77775
    SCORE: 77962

    I even was picking on the APU stock bigger brother (FX 8150) in the image to the far right with the CPU-Z benchmark.




    http://img.hwbot.org/u94172/image_id_1601763.jpeg



    I see they have a HWBOT version of realbench, I guess so other motherboards can run it.

    http://url.hwbot.org/1oU7xB1

    I better add the main link to HWBOT benchmarks download.

    http://hwbot.org/benchmarks/


    duh, I looked and saw because I was looking at 4 core ranking, I see in all number core ranking there is 2 AMD CPU higher than my APU, but that still good. One of the 2 has not even started the test by his picture and show no numbers, guess they don't check the submited.
    Last edited by bootmeup; 03-09-2016 at 09:57 PM.


    benchmark setting

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Havelock,N.C. U.S.A.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    397

    Re: AMD A10-7870k

    Oh, I want to ask if anyone has a APU to burn memtest 5.01 to a cd or maybe to a usb flash and hit f2 at the start of the test to run all cores. Mine will lockup after it hits test 9, I tried droping it down to 1600MHz and then down to 1333. It will still lock if all cores run the test, I change timing, volts, I hope it just memtest error with APUs.

    It works find if I do not hit f2 when the test loads and runs 1 core all night, well if I have the timing right. But when it runs all cores, you will see the spinning things for each core slow down on what it calls the 4th core, core 3 as it numbers them 0,1,2,3, when that core little spinning wheel thing run slower then the other 3, it will lockup the computer in a few seconds.

    I even went in the bios to change it to 2 core and the other core setting, because I was thinking my 4th core was bad, but i am sure it not that now. But something wrong and hope it just the program is old and needs update for the AMD APU, or I guess it could be that power management thing that I have turned off. Yet I see in windows with the sensors reading, it still lower my volts depending on load. I can watch on HWiNFO64 something playing with the CPU and NB and other volts, I see it lowing them to much and jacking them up higher then I set it at under a load. But that also could just be error of that program, as CPU-Z will not show as much of a swing. Like looking at the sensors, I see CPU volt minimum 1.444, maximum 1.525, being set in bios at 1.5, NB volt min 1.331, max 1.4, and hope thats wrong as it set only 1.2925 or whatever is 1 click less then 1.3 in the bios. AMD overdrive show 1.4625 on the CPU and it don't seem to move any, and on the NB volt it show 1.3 and I have not seen it move. AMD Overdrive showing 70c thermal margin now at idle, so it guessing my CPU is at 15C? for 85C max? But that part don't matter as with prime 95 running for hours only hits 38C -43C max on the sensor reading which I think is right as the fans kick in at 100% at 40C on the sensor and that match where I set it in the bios. The bios needs to let me set it to hit max at 36C so it not up-shifting and down-shifting so much when I run prime95.

    I been busy working with memory setting and other setting and testing, benchmarking, I think I still have only the motherboard CD drivers install. I did flash the Bios as it was like 2 version old and that lost the setting for strip size on raid. I don't mine as the SSD run better not on ide mode on port 5 as port 1,2,3,4 was for my raid 0 setup, which is like 3 builds old now, the 4 hard drives.


    benchmark setting

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •