Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Reformatting A SSD

    I've got a Samsung Evo 840 250 GB SSD that I would like to reformat and use specifically for my games. I have Samsung Magician but it will not work on Windows 10. So what is the best way to reformat an SSD and not damage it.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,396

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    I've always just used the built in windows tool


  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    I've always just used the built in windows tool
    I read somewhere that using the window format tool would damage the SSD, but I will give it a try.

    Thanks for the reply.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    I have another question now that the ssd I've installed in my computer has been formatted and the data erased. Windows stuck a 90 Mb partition in that I would like to delete if possible. I'm using Win 10, BTW.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,396

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by captkirk View Post
    I have another question now that the ssd I've installed in my computer has been formatted and the data erased. Windows stuck a 90 Mb partition in that I would like to delete if possible. I'm using Win 10, BTW.
    Using the drive for OS ?

    It could also be for over-provisioning


  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Using the drive for OS ?


    No.

    It could also be for over-provisioning
    No sure what that is?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,396

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by captkirk View Post
    Not sure what that is?
    The basics

    To understand why an SSD is configured with over-provisioning and how it benefits the SSD, we have to delve into the typical operation of an SSD and the limitations of non-volatile NAND Flash memory.
    Each NAND Flash cell has a finite life expectancy, based on its program and erase endurance (P/E), which is characterized during the manufacturing process by the NAND Flash manufacturer because each program or erase function executed on a NAND Flash cell erodes the cell’s capability to reliably store an electrical charge and may therefore threaten data integrity.

    Taken from here
    http://www.kingston.com/us/ssd/overprovisioning


  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,092

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    AFAIK overprovisioned space should not show up in windows at all, its usually available to the controller to shuffle stuff around. IIRC this is why many SSD's are sold as 240GB drives and not 256. I think what OP is talking about is probably system reserved space for windows. I'm not sure why it would create this partition if you weren't using the disk to install windows.


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  9. #9
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,396

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Activate: AMD View Post
    AFAIK overprovisioned space should not show up in windows at all, its usually available to the controller to shuffle stuff around. IIRC this is why many SSD's are sold as 240GB drives and not 256. I think what OP is talking about is probably system reserved space for windows. I'm not sure why it would create this partition if you weren't using the disk to install windows.
    I assume he was in disk management, Maybe I did so incorrectly.

    If you are in the management console the "hidden" partitions show up


  10. #10
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    This partition shows up in Windows Explorer when I open it. The SSD is labeled H, and the partition F.
    Last edited by captkirk; 03-01-2016 at 03:53 PM.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,092

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    I assume he was in disk management, Maybe I did so incorrectly.

    If you are in the management console the "hidden" partitions show up
    True, I just meant that overprovisioned space will not even show up in disk management. It exists behind the controller and never existed as far as the OS is concerned.

    captkirk - have you tried deleting both partitions and trying again, making sure that the partition size when formatting is set to the full space available?


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Carol Stream, IL USA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    367

    Re: Reformatting A SSD

    Quote Originally Posted by Activate: AMD View Post
    captkirk - have you tried deleting both partitions and trying again, making sure that the partition size when formatting is set to the full space available?
    I'm not sure I have anything that I could use with which to delete the partition and then reformat the whole disk. I'm afraid that my computer knowledge doesn't extent that far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •