Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1

    Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    My current set-up:

    CPU
    Intel Core i7 4770 @ 3.40GHz 30 C
    RAM
    8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 799MHz (11-11-11-28)
    Motherboard
    ASRock H81M-HDS (CPUSocket) 40 C
    Graphics
    BenQ GL2450H (1920x1080@60Hz)
    BenQ RL2455 (1920x1080@60Hz)
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (MSI) 40 C
    Storage
    931GB Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX-00KUWA0 (SATA) 34 C
    232GB Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB (SSD)

    This is currently running on a non-named brand 500w PSU.

    I'm considering upgrading to a GTX 970. Do you guys think I should consider upgrading my PSU?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    194

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    The only reason I would suggest you upgrade your PSU is if it's not a good brand.

    I checked an MSI 970 and the eVGA 970 SSC; each has a power draw of 145w and 201w, respectively, and both recommend a 500w PSU. So I would say you should be good provided it's a quality PSU.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    "non-named brand 500W PSU"

    Yes, yes you should. Its not worth risking your entire machine over a no-name PSU.


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    194

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    Quote Originally Posted by Activate: AMD View Post
    "non-named brand 500W PSU"
    Thank you, somehow I missed that. Totally agree, time to get a new PSU.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2016
    Location
    South of New Orleans
    Posts
    4

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    If you go with a higher end platinum or gold PSU you could also save a couple pennies on your electric bill if you run your system all day.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    7

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    Corsair PSU's generally are pretty decent. Even the lower Wattage models can handle higher consumption and hold the voltage stable.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,949

    Re: Do I need a new PSU if I upgrade my graphics card?

    I'm a fan of Corsair as well: I have an AX1200 in one rig and an HX1200i in the other.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •