Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    After a 13 year hiatus for a number of known and unknown reasons, i hope to start getting some WUs going again.

    Im in the process of building a new work station, hopefully done within a month if parts work out properly.

    the build will be based off a HP Z620:

    2 - Xenon E5-2690
    64GB DDR3-1600
    Quadro M4000 8GB
    and some other stuff....

    Its been a long time, i got lost and then found ... and lost a whole lot more, but more found a lot more of myself.

    I have missed the frogs.

    -Cody / Affende
    Last edited by Affende; 02-07-2017 at 02:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    For the time being, until i get the new workstation up and running, i am running F@H on my old, dying laptop .... at a blistering rate of nearly 40 points per day

    and it has only crashed the system twice so far on the lowest settings ...

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Well, unfortunately my laptop keeps crashing even on the light setting .... but i bit the bullet and ordered the final parts for the Workstation tonight minus the graphics card.

    So i should be folding sooner than expected, but without the help of the GPU (a month or two away on that one).

  4. #4
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,411

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Welcome Back to the Pond

    At this point in time, PPD really only comes from the GPU. I don't think the PPD/Watt calculation is there to even bother trying to CPU fold.


  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Welcome Back to the Pond

    At this point in time, PPD really only comes from the GPU. I don't think the PPD/Watt calculation is there to even bother trying to CPU fold.
    Is there a way to strip my laptop of all non-essential software, perhaps upgrade the RAM, and get it to fold? Even if it involves wiping the drive and installing a different OS (Linux or variant)?

    circa 2009 Toshiba Satellite A505-S6009
    I3-M330 @ 2.13 Ghz
    4 GB RAM
    Win 7

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Problems on the homefront.

    The new workstation is is only active on the GPU

    system specs are

    2x Xenon E5-2690
    64 GM 12800 ram
    1 TB HDD
    Nvidia Quadro 600 (until i get the other graphics cards installed)

    Currently it will not activate on the CPUs ... it is only folding on the GPU.

    What is my first troubleshooting step?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Janesville, Wi
    Posts
    6,411

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Have you followed the guide that O-Dog put together ?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...7)-Setup-Guide

    Then you would just have to add the CPU slot.

    Personally, I wouldn't add a CPU slot; since the GPU takes 1 core to run


  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Quote Originally Posted by mmettin View Post
    Have you followed the guide that O-Dog put together ?

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...7)-Setup-Guide

    Then you would just have to add the CPU slot.

    Personally, I wouldn't add a CPU slot; since the GPU takes 1 core to run

    I will run through that setup guide today.

    Im curious as to why you wouldnt use the CPU slot as well?

    The current gpu, even with updated drivers, is rather slow. I built this rig for mostly CAD work and i would love to take advantage of its dual CPU, 16-core potential in the F@H arena .... especially when the system is sitting idle.
    Last edited by Affende; 02-04-2017 at 11:25 AM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    i set up the client as per ODog .... once these newest updates finish I will see how it does.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    Im still only able to fold on the GPU slot. my CPU slot will not download a WU and sits at 'ready'.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    uninstalled and reinstalled the client.

    Through research i also found out that the new client does not like an odd number of CPU threads. Since the GPU takes one, i had 31 CPU threads active. Manually changing this to 30 fixed most of my problems.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    folding steady and stable for a week now.

    I think im putting out some really good numbers too! 80k per day .... holy crap! i remember folding for years to hit a few hundred thousand points!

    much faster than the old days of folding on 2 GHZ single core machines!

    things should speed up some more when i get the upgraded video cards ordered and installed. That is, unfortunately, a few months down the road i believe, but it will be an upgrade for sure going from a single Quadra 600 to a Quadro K5000 ... and eventually dual Quadro K5000s.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    32 threads never looked so good!


  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    so far, it seems my new workstation is adding about $6 a month to my electric bill.

    it will go up from there once i get the new video cards installed. ill start with a single K5000 and eventually add a second K5000 with SLI.

    I decided to change from the M4000 to the K5000 as the K series is tested and guaranteed for SLI arrangement by Nvidia with this motherboard/ CPU combo.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    coloRADo
    Posts
    1,885

    Re: Well its only been 13 years .... back to tadpole status.

    back to page 1 on the stats .... now to march to the top 25.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •