Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290

    Exclamation SYSTEM DOWN! AYE CARAMBA!! need help with RAID!!!

    ok i am setting up my RAID on a fasttrak66 and i am booting up it says..."Warning, Fastrak does noty detect proper interrupts, PLease check your PCI IRQ setup, andmake sure the PCI slot support Bus master operations" what the heck does this mean and how do i fix it? i have lloked for anything in the BIOS that says busmaster operations and i cant find anything..anyone know what all this means and how to fix it??? so i can load on windpows and whatnot...eek!!

    thanks guys!!

    Ryan
    Last edited by Shaft9ii; 10-21-2001 at 05:08 PM.
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    bump....need help, i'm on my roommate computer...and its an INTEL!!! aarrgghh!!!
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    bump...
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    327
    did you try moving it to a different pci slot?

    -Torg
    System Specs:
    -------------------------------
    2700+ AXP
    MSI K7N2G-ILSR
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Retail
    Onboard NIC
    Using the Soundstorm Audio
    1GB (2x512) Crucial PC-2700
    2x 30gb WD drives as raid 0 on Highpoint SATA>PATA converters
    60gb WD 5400rpm ata100
    80gb WD 7200rpm ata 100
    48x12x48 Visiontek CDRW (Rebadged Lite-ON)
    16x Pioneer slot-load DVD.
    Pioneer DVRA03 DVD-RW
    Happily whirring in a Lian-Li PC-60USB case

    Dell 2000FP 20.1" LCD

    "All I want in life is three simple things: A warm bed, A kind word, and ULTIMATE POWER."

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    yeah, a couple of differnet pci slots..andi took everything else out cept for the video card, but no luck...any other ideas?

    thanks forthe help

    Ryan
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  6. #6
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    327
    my guess is you have an IRQ conflict of somesort.

    if your not using any of the onboard devices (sound, parallel ports, serial ports, any other crap that mobo manufacturers put on) try turning that stuff off.


    what manufacturer of board is it?

    -Torg
    System Specs:
    -------------------------------
    2700+ AXP
    MSI K7N2G-ILSR
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Retail
    Onboard NIC
    Using the Soundstorm Audio
    1GB (2x512) Crucial PC-2700
    2x 30gb WD drives as raid 0 on Highpoint SATA>PATA converters
    60gb WD 5400rpm ata100
    80gb WD 7200rpm ata 100
    48x12x48 Visiontek CDRW (Rebadged Lite-ON)
    16x Pioneer slot-load DVD.
    Pioneer DVRA03 DVD-RW
    Happily whirring in a Lian-Li PC-60USB case

    Dell 2000FP 20.1" LCD

    "All I want in life is three simple things: A warm bed, A kind word, and ULTIMATE POWER."

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    I have an asus a7a266 mobo..its all in my sig down there...i am trying to install a promise fasttrak66 Raid controller with two 40 gigs maxtor hard drives..7200rpm

    thx..oh and the serial port thing didnt work..any other ideas?


    Thanks dude

    Ryan
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    327
    well, here is another long shot you can try... in the bios, prolly under PnP/PCI settings there is a reset ESCD option, set that to enabled and reboot, might fix it, but won't cause any problems if it doesn't.


    -Torg
    System Specs:
    -------------------------------
    2700+ AXP
    MSI K7N2G-ILSR
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Retail
    Onboard NIC
    Using the Soundstorm Audio
    1GB (2x512) Crucial PC-2700
    2x 30gb WD drives as raid 0 on Highpoint SATA>PATA converters
    60gb WD 5400rpm ata100
    80gb WD 7200rpm ata 100
    48x12x48 Visiontek CDRW (Rebadged Lite-ON)
    16x Pioneer slot-load DVD.
    Pioneer DVRA03 DVD-RW
    Happily whirring in a Lian-Li PC-60USB case

    Dell 2000FP 20.1" LCD

    "All I want in life is three simple things: A warm bed, A kind word, and ULTIMATE POWER."

  9. #9
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    hhmm...i cant seem to find anoption like that in my bios...i even went as far as assigning a totally free irq slot to my fasttrak card...irq 3(since i turned off my serial ports) and no luck...got any other tricks up your sleeve? it seems as though i might have to chalk another failed upgrade to jsut a stupid incompatibility thingy...lol...any toher ideas??

    Thanks so much for yuor help


    Ryan
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    327
    That option is in there somewhere, it might be called ESCD, or Reset Configuration Data, or something like that, what it does is reset the IRQ's and what not that the pnp bios spits out. it was listed as a solution on promise's site as well. I'd find that setting and try it.

    -Torg
    System Specs:
    -------------------------------
    2700+ AXP
    MSI K7N2G-ILSR
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Retail
    Onboard NIC
    Using the Soundstorm Audio
    1GB (2x512) Crucial PC-2700
    2x 30gb WD drives as raid 0 on Highpoint SATA>PATA converters
    60gb WD 5400rpm ata100
    80gb WD 7200rpm ata 100
    48x12x48 Visiontek CDRW (Rebadged Lite-ON)
    16x Pioneer slot-load DVD.
    Pioneer DVRA03 DVD-RW
    Happily whirring in a Lian-Li PC-60USB case

    Dell 2000FP 20.1" LCD

    "All I want in life is three simple things: A warm bed, A kind word, and ULTIMATE POWER."

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    OK i found it, under Reset config data, thanks...it didnt seem to work though...i set it as yes, and then saved changesand excited,restarted and di the same thing...so..i dont think it worked....not a good sign! lol


    thank you...any other ideas?? i am at a total loss..i dont knowmuch aboutRAID..thoughi surmise i will rather soon...hehe


    Ryan
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    944
    Does your BIOS have an option to specify a PNP OS?
    This allows the OS to redirect the IRQ's.
    Disabled the OS will try and keep the IRQ assignment as handed it by the BIOS.
    Just a thought to get past the conflict.
    GA K8N-SLI /AMD 3700+
    ABIT KT7A-R /AMD 1.333
    ECS K7S5A /AMD 2000+XP
    AMD Mobile 1.2

  13. #13
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    yeah, it has that option, and right now it is enabled..but i dont have an OS installed at themoment..this error occurs as itsloading up the Raid controller cards bios..jsut before there would be the loading of the OS (if there were one)

    so should i try disabling this?


    Thanks Jim

    Ryan
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    290
    bump
    -"It sucks while it cuts!"
    -"Well...it certainly does suck!"



    Motherboard: Asus A7A266 DDR Rev. 1.04
    Processor: AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz 266FSB overclocked to 1221!!!
    Heatsink: vantec 6030D w/6800RPM delta
    RAM: Crucial DDR 2100 256MB + 256 MB Crucial DDR (512MB total)
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Live! 5.1
    Hard Drive: Maxtor 40 Gig
    CD-RW: Plextor 16/10/40
    DVD: Pioneer Slot Load
    NIC: 3COM
    Operating System: WinXP
    Speakers: Cambridge Soundworks DT2200
    Floppy:generic
    Case: Antec 300w
    Fans: Currently 2 80mm case fans, one in, one out, One PCI Fan
    Monitor: 19" Syncmaster 955DF
    Printer: Damned if i know, but it says Canon on the front

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phobos
    Posts
    944
    Sorry couldn't get on for a while there.
    try this

    It mentions disabling PCI sterring. and other issues.
    Good Luck
    GA K8N-SLI /AMD 3700+
    ABIT KT7A-R /AMD 1.333
    ECS K7S5A /AMD 2000+XP
    AMD Mobile 1.2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •