Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Freeport, IL
    Posts
    308

    Talking Help a dumb frog fold!!!

    Hey fellas-

    I would like to get started in Folding@Home. I think the cause is more than worthy.

    My question is this....

    Can someone write an FAQ, as good as our SETI FAQ, that will hold my hand through every step of getting started?

    I currently run CL-SETI with SETIDriver. Is there a similar setup for folding?

    Please help me find ET and keep him healthy!!!

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,988
    There is no caching setup like SETI Driver so you must be on-line when the unit gets done to transmit it and download the next or you will loose a lot of crunch time. The way the program is setup you cannot have cached units becouse the unit you turn in determins the next unit it will send you.

    And no changing you CPU speed or the unit you are working on will stop working and it will download a new unit to match you new CPU speed. This is a pain in the ass for me as I change CPU speeds daily(sometimes hourly) for my testing.

    Old Frog posted some Links somewhere in the forum.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,049
    Jaydee....I can shut down the client(s) on my duals and change
    speeds of the fsb, restart the computer and it picks back up
    where it left off. Not sure what is happening with your system.
    I'm running 2.17 btw.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,988
    Originally posted by tazfann
    Jaydee....I can shut down the client(s) on my duals and change
    speeds of the fsb, restart the computer and it picks back up
    where it left off. Not sure what is happening with your system.
    I'm running 2.17 btw.
    It done it 4 times yesterday. Everytime I changed over 50mhz(FSB or multi) it dropped the old unit and downloaded and started a new one right after it did the benchmark test. Right before I gave up the board died. I will try it one more time when my new board gets here. Maybe the client was bad? I will try that 2.17 beta you are running and see ifthat works.

    But if it does that I will be limited to one computer as the one I was running it on is my test system for my water blocks. That's why it is always changing speeds. Thats also why it died yesterday but that is another story.
    Last edited by jaydee116; 12-23-2001 at 04:38 PM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Freeport, IL
    Posts
    308

    Angry

    Guess I won't be joining the folding team after all then.

    I am on dial-up, therefore, I see no point if I can't cache WU.

    Oh, well... was a good thought.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Posts
    6,179

    Dial Up

    Originally posted by MadAsHell
    Guess I won't be joining the folding team after all then.

    I am on dial-up, therefore, I see no point if I can't cache WU.

    Oh, well... was a good thought.
    Can't you set your modem to dial on demand?
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,988

    Re: Dial Up

    Originally posted by britgeezer


    Can't you set your modem to dial on demand?
    Good question. I havn't seen a way to do it but I havn't looked hard either.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Freeport, IL
    Posts
    308
    My modem can be set to dial on demand, but then it is hit and miss how long it stays connected. We are still using the same line for phone/net, so I like to have control over when the comp dials out.

    I am probably going to take the plunge and get DSL this spring, so I will climb aboard then.

    Why don't we get a petition going for them to rewrite the code, and come up with something for caching units? If they really want folks to help, they should be willing to do it. After all, even with all the broadband users out there, most people still use dialup.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pollock Pines CA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    1,614
    I agree MadasHell. The reason Seti is so popular is it's flexibility. Modem, network, farms etc seti can scale from the home user to entire enterprises. I hope Folding will some day be as flexible. I am also sharing a phone line with the computer so auto dialing isn't a good idea.

    I tried Folding at work but it can't get past the firewall. I'll check out the faqs after xmas.
    Dok


  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bartlett, IL
    Posts
    1,116
    My firewall is blocking me to. I have no problem with the firewall using Seti, just with Folding and Genome.

    Oh well.... I'll probably eventuall setup folding or genome on my home system.

  11. #11
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    5,298
    That's what I did. I put F@H on my main which is my internet proxy at home. Wife's rig and work laptop go on with Seti (Won't update much until new year, I'm caching).

  12. #12
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Waldport, Oregon, USA
    Age
    77
    Posts
    6,746
    Originally posted by tazfann
    Jaydee....I can shut down the client(s) on my duals and change
    speeds of the fsb, restart the computer and it picks back up
    where it left off. Not sure what is happening with your system.
    I'm running 2.17 btw.
    If I shutdown, how do I find the partially completed client when I restart the computer?

    I'm also running 2.17, and I'm on dialup but, I seldom get offline.


  13. #13
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,049
    Originally posted by dlcampbe


    If I shutdown, how do I find the partially completed client when I restart the computer?
    I'm also running 2.17, and I'm on dialup but, I seldom get offline.
    Go to your folding folder and simply restart the
    console.exe
    It will do the rest........hold on....I'll shut one of mine down
    and print it here.......

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    2,049
    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@Home Client Version 2.17

    http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
    email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################


    Benchmarking ...
    - Ask before connecting: No
    - ID = 44A417E763E6249C

    Loaded queue successfully.

    + Processing work unit
    Core required: Core_65.exe (found)

    [December 24 19:09:35] Working on Unit 07
    + Working ...
    [19:09:35] Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.34 (Oct 24, 2001)
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] Proj: work/wudata_07
    [19:09:35] nsteps: 500000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 100.000000 temperature: 300.000000
    [19:09:35] xyzfile:
    [19:09:35] " 389 GNRA Hairpin
    [19:09:35] 1 OS -24.250882 -30.177765 -12.673958 31 2..."
    [19:09:35] keyfile:
    [19:09:35] "NOVERSION
    [19:09:35] ARCHIVE
    [19:09:35] INTEGRATE stochastic
    [19:09:35] FRICTION 91.0
    [19:09:35] RATTLE
    [19:09:35] solvate g..."
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] Hashes matched on file work/wudata_07.dyn
    [19:09:35] ARC file integrity verified
    [19:09:35] .Restarting from checkpointed files
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] Protein: GNRA Hairpin
    [19:09:35] - Frames Completed: 72, Remaining: 28
    [19:09:35] - Dynamic steps required: 140000
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] Writing local files:
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] parameters work/wudata_07.prm
    [19:09:35] - Writing "work/wudata_07.key": (overwrite)successful.
    [19:09:35] - Writing "work/wudata_07.xyz": (overwrite)[19:09:35] successful.
    [19:09:35] - Writing "work/wudata_07.prm": (overwrite)successful.
    [19:09:35] - Writing "work/wudata_07.key": (append)successful.
    [19:09:35]
    [19:09:35] PROJECT="work/wudata_07", NSTEPS=140000, DT=2.0000, DTDUMP=10.000000, TEMP=300.00
    [19:09:36] TINKER: Software Tools for Molecular Design
    [19:09:36] Version 3.8 October 2000
    [19:09:36] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
    [19:09:36] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
    [19:09:36] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001

  15. #15
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Posts
    6,179

    2.17 or 2.15

    [QUOTE]Originally posted by tazfann
    [B]###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@Home Client Version 2.17

    http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
    email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

    QUOTE]

    Isn't that link to 2.15?
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •