Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    785

    Question Folding Command Line

    I downloaded the beta 2.17 console. When I started it, it didn't ask me for a user name etc. How do you get this thing to properly accredit yourself and the team for WU completed?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bartlett, IL
    Posts
    1,116
    Mine asked me right away. Do you have a client.cfg file in the F@H folder? If so, open it with notepad and you can edit the username and team number in there. (Make sure it's the client.CFG file)

  3. #3
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    785
    I must really be missing something here...
    Exactly which files do you need to run this command line folding file? I downloaded the file itself FAH2Console-V217.exe place it in it's own directory and then run it as an executable...right? If I do this there isn't any client.cfg generated within the directory. I'm assuming that there are other files I need to download from I don't know where in order to get this whole mess up and running.

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    5,298
    Empty your Folding directory except for the exeac FAH2console (Whatever the version).
    When the 2.17 starts,
    it asks for name and team # and save them in "client.cfg",
    it downloads a wu (file named wudata_##.zip, but it's not a zipped file),
    It creates a subdir called "work" and put some files in it (wu_data_##.key, wu_data_##.xyz, wu_data_##.prm, wu_data_##.key).
    It downloads the prog called Core_65.
    It starts crunching

    When crunching is finished, it uploads its results, dld another one and starts again from client.cfg

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    785
    Thanks a million OldFrog. Worked like a charm this time. I really don't know what I was doing wrong before...
    I didn't see the reasoning behind doing these WUs and not having them count for the team.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    5,298
    Originally posted by Steve-62
    Thanks a million OldFrog. Worked like a charm this time. I really don't know what I was doing wrong before...
    I didn't see the reasoning behind doing these WUs and not having them count for the team.
    Nice if I could help. I found the CLP is not quite as stable as Seti. Mine started again twice my 8th wu.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    N. New Joisey
    Posts
    6,182

    Takes too long

    Originally posted by OldFrog


    Nice if I could help. I found the CLP is not quite as stable as Seti. Mine started again twice my 8th wu.
    I put the CL version on at noon thursday and it did its first fold 6.00am this morning - that suggests that the PIII system takes longer than the GU version any ideas. PS run past this executable thingy again for me - I used Firedaemon to start the exe file could this be part of the problem?
    the Britgeezer

    My Heat otherwise a smoke free home

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •